Should I upgrade or get a new comp altogether? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-31-2006, 06:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 31
Default Should I upgrade or get a new comp altogether?

My current computer is a crappy Compaq one with 2.8GHZ, 512ram (forgot what type), an 80gb harddrive and crappy integrated graphics. I have the money to get a new video card (something like 6800GT with my budget) but my motherboard only has 2 PCI slots. Should I go through all the trouble of replacing my motherboard with a new one (probably will have to buy a new case too) and put in all the stuff or just buy a new computer and upgrade it?
__________________

invisiblewall is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 06:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

2 sli slots? do you mean 2 pci slots these are generally white. don you know if you have an agp slot (generally brown or black) if you have an agp slot the 6600gt would be nice then you can save up to build a new system using the 6600gt.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 08:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 31
Default

oh sorry, I knew something was wrong with my post. Yeah, I checked. I have no AGP slots
invisiblewall is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 09:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

hmmmm. if yopu had an agp slot i would say go for the 6600gt but now that you dont I am thinking you should just get a new mobo and case. I am guessing that your cpu is an intel since it has such a high clock speed, but is it a celeron or p4?
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 11:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Default

If he isnt going to be doing any crazy or good gaming than he could go with a FX5500 they come in PCI and there alright but I could set you up a budget pc that would utilize all the stuff you have right now and just upgrade your mobo,Cpu and ram and GFX
card.
__________________
fr34ky is offline  
Old 02-01-2006, 12:11 AM   #6 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Default

Cpu:AMD 3200+ 939socket w/1ghz FSB $169

RAM:OCZ Enhanced Latency 512MB $55
Or 1gb:2x512mb OCZ Enhanced Latency dual channel $110

MOBO: MSI K8N Neo4 Platinum Socket 939 $120

HDD:you could use the same one

GFX card:6600gt 128mb $129

DVD drive:
maybe a dvd burner if dont have one, you could pick one up for around $50

Case: about no more than $100
optional or down the road:also antec PSU about 450watts would probaly over mark just for future upgrades.450watts is plenty!
__________________

__________________
fr34ky is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.