Should I Upgrade? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-08-2005, 11:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default Should I Upgrade?

The current Rig I have is:

AMD Athlon XP 2800+ 2.08 GHz 512 L2 Cache

1.256 Gigs of RAM (1 gig 1 256 stick) PC2700

120 GB Hard Drive 5400 RPM Ultra DMA

Geforce FX 5200

Asus Socket A, Nforce 2 chipset motherboard

What I do on the computer is play video games, I play a total of about 2 to 3 games, UT 2k4, WoW, Warcraft 3.

Games I would like to get into are B&W2 and BF2, but because of the above specs (mainly the Video Card) I cannot run these 2 games very well, thus comes my delima.

I am thinking of buying this computer:

AMD Athlon 64 XP 3800+ Dual-Core

1 Gig of PC3200 RAM

160 GB Hard Drive 7200 RPM

6800GT Video Card (or 6600GT to save cash)

Anyways, I am getting closer to college, and this upgrade will cost me roughly 700 dollars because I am able to sell my current one to my older brother.

Now the main question, is $700 for this new setup WORTH the price, (550-600 or so if I get the 6600GT) if I do not play to many video games and once college hits I will play them even less. I will have to upgrade fully eventually, but my computer at the moment seems pretty responsive and fast, just am not sure if it is worth the boost up in computer considering the price difference and the use the computer will recieve.

The other option is to buy a 6600GT video card (will not go 6800GT since in about a year or so I will be buying a whole new system anyways) to jack up the graphics and allow my machine to run BF2 and B&W.

Now, the kicker, Will my current rig with the 6600GT be THAT much slower than the new one to merit spending 500-700 more dollars on it to buy it?

Thanks guys for any and all help you give me.

- Josh
__________________

JoshSB is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 11:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

your cpu would be holding back alot on those games like bf2 but 6800 Vanilla would be your best bet.

So for a 700 dollar upgrade or 700 dollar gaming comp?

PS- Welcome to TF
__________________

Static_11 is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 11:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

The computer would be a total of 700 dollars roughly because of me getting cash for my current machine.

Also, what do you think of the specs of the rig i would be buying, are they worthwhile/good? or are they just semi good?
JoshSB is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 11:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 57
Send a message via AIM to chrispowell
Default

i have a computer if your interested im only selling it for 850

*80gig HD*
*1 gig of hyperX memory*
*3500+ amd 64bit processor*
*Fatal1ty An8 Mobo*
*x850xt PCIe 256mb*
*Black Shark thermaltake Case* (blue lights)
*Lite-on all in one CD-RW and DVD-RW*
*thermaltake Headsink for cpu* (HUGE) good cooling
*Thermaltake 500watt powersupply* VERY QUIET*
chrispowell is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 11:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

TT psu's die
what kind of hdd?
what speed of hdd?


Anyway, for 700 bucks you can build a decent machine.
amd 3200+ s939 (i think is $190)
MSI mobo pci-e $80 bucks
6600GT $160
60 dollar psu
50 dollar case
OS??
monitor?
speakers?
optical drives?
hdd?

Theres a crap load of info in the link on my sig (under the hot chick)
Static_11 is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 12:20 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 722
Send a message via AIM to Riceball
Default

Yea what motherboard are you planning on getting? And btw, i'd definitely get the 6800GS. it's a brand new card and it's just as good as the 6800GT, just a bit cheaper. Here's the benchmarks.
http://www.extremetech.com/article2/...1882735,00.asp
__________________
AMD 64 3200+ Newcastle@ 2.2Ghz
MSI-RS480M-IL
1GB (1x1GB) OCZ Performance Series
ATI X700 Pro 256MB OC\'d 475/525
OCZ Modstream 520W
Thermaltake Tsunami
Samsung 914v 19\" 12ms LCD
SB X-Fi w/ Logitech Z 5300e
Riceball is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 12:47 AM   #7 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

I know absolutely nothing about overclocking, so it will not be a overclockable machine, cause i know nothing on that hehe
__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Jackson

“Omnis vir est fortunae faber”
JoshSB is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 12:57 AM   #8 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

If the Mobo says AMD Athlon 64, I assume it also includes the X2 line supported? or does it have to say x2?
__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Jackson

“Omnis vir est fortunae faber”
JoshSB is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 01:45 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 833
Send a message via ICQ to Amd2800 Send a message via AIM to Amd2800 Send a message via Yahoo to Amd2800
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Static_11
your cpu would be holding back alot on those games like bf2 but 6800 Vanilla would be your best bet.

So for a 700 dollar upgrade or 700 dollar gaming comp?

PS- Welcome to TF
No he CPU Will be fine for Bf2 as i run bf2 on a Sempron 2800+ and its fine
__________________
NEW PC : The I5-2500 3.3ghz
CPU : Intel I5-2500 @ 3.3Ghz *SandyBridge* - Ram : 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Asus P8H67-M Pro
HDD0 : 1TB Sata 2 - GFX : ATI Radeon HD6950 2GB - Sound: Realtek 5.1 Onboard - OS1 : Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Dell Studio 1747 Laptop
CPU : Intel I7 - Q720 @ 1.66Ghz - Ram: 4GB Ram DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Dell - HDD: 2x 500GB Sata 2 - OS1: Windows 7 Ultimate X64





Quote:
I want a processor in my brain..... Can i upgrade my ram?

Amd2800 is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 01:48 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 833
Send a message via ICQ to Amd2800 Send a message via AIM to Amd2800 Send a message via Yahoo to Amd2800
Default Re: Should I Upgrade?

Quote:
Originally posted by JoshSB
The current Rig I have is:

AMD Athlon XP 2800+ 2.08 GHz 512 L2 Cache

1.256 Gigs of RAM (1 gig 1 256 stick) PC2700

120 GB Hard Drive 5400 RPM Ultra DMA

Geforce FX 5200

Asus Socket A, Nforce 2 chipset motherboard

What I do on the computer is play video games, I play a total of about 2 to 3 games, UT 2k4, WoW, Warcraft 3.

Games I would like to get into are B&W2 and BF2, but because of the above specs (mainly the Video Card) I cannot run these 2 games very well, thus comes my delima.

I am thinking of buying this computer:

AMD Athlon 64 XP 3800+ Dual-Core

1 Gig of PC3200 RAM

160 GB Hard Drive 7200 RPM

6800GT Video Card (or 6600GT to save cash)


- Josh
Thats B/S I run bf2 on a Geforce FX 5200 and a 2800 Processor and 768mb ram so dont give me that ...Bf2 will run
__________________

__________________
NEW PC : The I5-2500 3.3ghz
CPU : Intel I5-2500 @ 3.3Ghz *SandyBridge* - Ram : 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Asus P8H67-M Pro
HDD0 : 1TB Sata 2 - GFX : ATI Radeon HD6950 2GB - Sound: Realtek 5.1 Onboard - OS1 : Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Dell Studio 1747 Laptop
CPU : Intel I7 - Q720 @ 1.66Ghz - Ram: 4GB Ram DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Dell - HDD: 2x 500GB Sata 2 - OS1: Windows 7 Ultimate X64





Quote:
I want a processor in my brain..... Can i upgrade my ram?

Amd2800 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.