Should I go with AMD or Intel? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-09-2009, 02:21 PM   #11 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Should I go with AMD or Intel?

if you don't mind open box
Newegg.com - Open Box: ASUS P5Q PRO + XONAR DX LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard Bundle
you stated your budget is $150 for cpu and $100 for mobo, correct? You can take the money saved on the cpu and put alittle towards the mobo.
__________________

thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 02-09-2009, 02:47 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Should I go with AMD or Intel?

If the most demanding game you'll run is CS 1.6, you could run it easily on an AMD 780G motherboard. And you don't need an extra video card.
The 780G has a DirectX 10.1 GPU that can be used for HD video decoding, and you'll easily be able to run your HDTV on it.
Newegg.com - ASRock A780GXE/128M AM2+/AM2 AMD 780G ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards

an X2 5600+ is cheap and more than enough for Photoshop
Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 X2 5600 Brisbane 2.9GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket AM2 65W Dual-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops

Probably RAM would be a lot most important for system responsiveness, so get 4GB (it's cheap), and disable paging file.
Newegg.com - G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-09-2009, 03:59 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Should I go with AMD or Intel?

And later down the line you can still add a video card for better performance.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 02-09-2009, 07:21 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Should I go with AMD or Intel?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricanflow View Post
And later down the line you can still add a video card for better performance.
Ya you can Hybrid CFX a HD 3450 or HD 3650
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 02-09-2009, 08:01 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Should I go with AMD or Intel?

I was referring to just getting a better card.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 02-09-2009, 08:09 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Should I go with AMD or Intel?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricanflow View Post
I was referring to just getting a better card.
and he was referring to specific cards which you can use in crossfire with the onboard GPU
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-13-2009, 06:24 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 413
Default Re: Should I go with AMD or Intel?

Didn't notice this got more replies, thanks. My bro got his taxes today, so I'll be ordering the parts very soon today. Quick CPU question before I order, the 5400+ BE isn't there anymore, but I saw that this available now Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 X2 7750 Kuma 2.7GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache 2MB L3 Cache Socket AM2+ 95W Dual-Core black edition Processor - Processors - Desktops how would that compare to my original choice Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz 2 x 1MB L2 Cache Socket AM2 125W Dual-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops ? The BE is just .3ghz slower, but is 65nm(better?), has L3 Cache(better?), has a higher HT 3600mhz, comes with heatsink and is slightly cheaper. - No overclocking will be done on this PC.
Ksingler is offline  
Old 02-13-2009, 06:38 PM   #18 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Should I go with AMD or Intel?

The x2 7750 BE is a all around better cpu than the 6000+.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 02-13-2009, 07:01 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 127
Default Re: Should I go with AMD or Intel?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PH3N0M View Post
AMD = Another Major Disaster. Stick with Intel.
Why is your name PH3NOM then lol.
AMD is fine, i have a 7750 kuma (just got it), and on stock cooling and heating it's OC'ed to 3.1 ghz, on load at around 61 degrees C. It can play crysis (warhead) on 790gx IGP on mainstream 1024*768 fine.

I'm not saying that you should/need to overclock, but that's basically what you are intended to do with this CPU.
wizzardxexe is offline  
Old 02-13-2009, 07:07 PM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 413
Default Re: Should I go with AMD or Intel?

Ya, I would if it were my computer, but my brother doesn't know anything about OC, and it would just be better if everything ran stock for him and his girl. I ended up going with the Kuma and this Newegg.com - Antec Neo Power 500 500W ATX12V SLI Certified CrossFire Ready Modular Active PFC Power Supply - Power Supplies power supply for future upgrades.
__________________

Ksingler is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help building a budgeted gaming system (amateur) kenny536 System Upgrades 32 03-11-2009 01:25 PM
Intel E8400 3.00GHz (OR) Q6600 2.4G (OR) AMD Phenom x4 9950 Black Edition Errorloading New Systems | Building and Buying 18 12-27-2008 03:45 PM
AMD vs. Intel tbinnerarity New Systems | Building and Buying 12 10-06-2008 10:02 PM
Intel bans Nvidia Apokalipse Polls 66 06-24-2008 05:26 PM
AMD to Intel Conversion FlapJack Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 03-05-2008 06:39 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.