Should I believe Dell? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-01-2008, 07:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5
Default Should I believe Dell?

Sorry if I am out of place on this forum. I read other posts and realize how limited my knowledge is.

My last thread said 1066 MGz ram will clock down to 667 MGz and be OK?
Does ram automaticly down clock to the maximum a system can handle?
Dell said if I use 1066 MGz DDR2 instead of the 667 MGz recomended max, I will damaged my systm. Are they giving me crap?

The reason for my original question was, I read a part survey stating I needed to check mother board voltage capabilities before upgrade.

Will 1066 (Kensington heat shielded) run hotter than 667.
Is it better to return and get #4-1G 667 DDR2 SDRAM?

Are dual channel or Unbuffered of concern to me?
\Thanks, Den
__________________

3foot is offline  
Old 12-02-2008, 02:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Should I believe Dell?

800mhz for fact will be able to clock down to 667mhz. 1066mhz ram should be able to as well.

It doesn't really damage your system, because I've down clocked my ram too. If anything its over clocking your ram too high which causes damage to your system.
__________________

__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 12-02-2008, 03:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Should I believe Dell?

No point wasting money on RAM faster then the system allows. Also faster then 667mhz ram is only used for overclocking not real world performance gain, you cant overclock properlt because of a locked bios. I wouldn't damage your system though unless the voltage draw defaulted by the bios is to high because it doesnt recognise the sticks.

Dual channel is better then single sticksas they work together to increase productivity. You would be best telling us the computer model and the components within before we reccomend you methods to increase speed.
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 12-03-2008, 05:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5
Cool Re: Should I believe Dell?

My computer currently is a dell Dimension XPS G4 -

1 T7082 PROCESSOR..., 80547, PENTIUM 4 PRESCOTT DT..., Pentium 4 Prescott DT, 3.4GHZ, 1 MEGB, 800FSB..., SKT-T, E0, MALE...

1 U7084 CARD (CIRCUIT)..., PLANAR (MOTHERBOARD)..., TRANSFORMER SKY DIVE MINITOWER..., XPS-G4, MID-LIFE KICKER...

2 W3768 DUAL IN-LINE MEMORY MODULE..., 512, 533M, 64X64, 8, 240, 1RX8

Hearing, "the voltage draw defaulted by the bios is to high because it doesnt recognise the sticks", has me concerned about using the 1066 MGz. in my system when they arrive from egghead.

Open packages cannot be credited (quad pack). When my 1066 ram arrives I will return. Even with 15% restocking I am money ahead buying 667 MGz ram

Thanks for all the help.
Den
3foot is offline  
Old 12-04-2008, 03:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Should I believe Dell?

No don't return it will be fine!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 12-04-2008, 03:04 AM   #6 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Should I believe Dell?

If you already bought them, then keep them.

What he meant was that 800mhz ram is cheaper then 1066mhz ram. So it would make no sense as to why you would pay extra if your ram is going to be down clocked regardless.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 12-04-2008, 04:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5
Default Re: Should I believe Dell?

I have contacted egghead and a return is set up. Everything is unopened therefore I will not incur any expense and save $30 after buying 667 MGz.

Is there another advantage to keeping the
Kingston HyperX 4GB (4 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066?

Is it of more possible use in a future system?

Is it possible that the 1066 MGz ram will run faster than the 667 MGz Dell
states as the maxinum speed allowable in my system?

Is sales the only reason Dell said 1066 would damage my system?

Den
__________________

3foot is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell Releases Bios Updates For Several Nvidia Video Cards Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 07-30-2008 12:41 PM
Upgrading Power Supply on DELL - Curse them. Snoobies New Systems | Building and Buying 3 02-12-2008 12:18 AM
A newbie need help: upgrading from ancient dell PuluPulu New Systems | Building and Buying 8 08-11-2007 10:45 AM
Dell to finally ship PCs with Linux Osiris Linux and Open Source 7 05-13-2007 04:54 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.