Should be 1.02 GHz, but running at 722MHz...? Whyyy? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2007, 10:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 347
Default Should be 1.02 GHz, but running at 722MHz...? Whyyy?

I have my girlfriend's Gateway Solo 9550 Laptop in front of me. I wiped it out, and reformated the hard drive and re-installed windows XP Pro. I got it booted, and installed all the latest drivers for everything. I went into the System Properties and saw it was running at 722MHz when it should be running 1066MHz (1.02 GHz)

Can you guys think of any reasons why? It has the latest BIOS, all the drivers up to date.. Just can't think of why there would be something like this....
__________________

Alexinator is offline  
Old 04-17-2007, 10:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Should be 1.02 GHz, but running at 722MHz...? Whyyy?

one word...Speedstep
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 12:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 347
Default Re: Should be 1.02 GHz, but running at 722MHz...? Whyyy?

So, it's automaticly software controlled, so when it needs to, it will bump up the proc speed? I didn't know this old laptop would have such a thing. It's a Pentium III M. So it is using speedstep? I considered it earlier but didn't think this thing would have it.
Alexinator is offline  
Old 04-19-2007, 08:26 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Should be 1.02 GHz, but running at 722MHz...? Whyyy?

Hello,

Yes. All of the Mobile Intel Pentium III processors have Enhanced Intel SpeedStep technology, apart from two processors clocked at 500 Mhz which have SpeedStep technology. The early versions clocked at 400 Mhz, 450 Mhz and 500 Mhz (with the exeption of a couple) don't have SpeedStep technology.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet/computer running slow vampyric_blood HijackThis Logs (finished) 3 03-25-2007 10:43 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.