shopping for a vid card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-22-2005, 05:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 422
Default shopping for a vid card

hi all, i currently own a geforce fx5500 256mb vid card but recently i found out i can not run battlefield 2 smoothly on medium settings and it still a bit choppy on low settings. ive been shopping for a geforce 6800 but came across many different kinds. the agp comes to mind as it is what most people have but it retails for $300+. ive seen a 6800 from leadtek, a pci express 256bit 256mb card for about $200. im not a huge gamer, just someone who plays the newer fps' out there (bf2, hl2, source, etc.) occasionally, but not hardcore. can someone suggest a good 6800 card for around the $200-250 range?
__________________

__________________
Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Manchester @ 2.2GHz ... Biostar TForce4SLI 939 ... 2GB (1GB X 2) XMS Corsair DDR400 ... PNY 9600GSO 768MB ... 2X 7200.2 Seagate Barracuda 160GB ... Cooler Master Centurion 5 ATX ... Antec TruePower Trio 550W ... Windows Vista 32-bit Premium ... Acer H213H 21.5" 1920X1080
JeffK91 is offline  
Old 08-22-2005, 05:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

SEARCH TECH FORUMS

Please close this thread.....damn. I hate these threads.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 08-22-2005, 05:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 422
Default

do you mind being a little helpful like telling me what to search or actually answer my thread?
__________________
Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Manchester @ 2.2GHz ... Biostar TForce4SLI 939 ... 2GB (1GB X 2) XMS Corsair DDR400 ... PNY 9600GSO 768MB ... 2X 7200.2 Seagate Barracuda 160GB ... Cooler Master Centurion 5 ATX ... Antec TruePower Trio 550W ... Windows Vista 32-bit Premium ... Acer H213H 21.5" 1920X1080
JeffK91 is offline  
Old 08-22-2005, 05:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

http://www.techist.com/search.php
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 08-22-2005, 09:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

if its not hard core go with a 6600gt evga 150$
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 08-22-2005, 10:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

what expantion slots do you have on your motherboard? AGP or PCI-E? you want PCI-E if you have it, AGP=8X, PCI-E=16X
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 08-22-2005, 11:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2
Default

I have a Gigabyte NX66256DP 256mb 6600 PCI-E. Brand new.
I'm Melbourne based. $205 + postage and it's yours!
The_Source is offline  
Old 08-22-2005, 11:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 422
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by timmer
if its not hard core go with a 6600gt evga 150$
great, thanks! btw, is this better for a bit more? http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814122207

my motherboard can hold agp and pci but i personally would like to go with PCI-E
__________________
Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Manchester @ 2.2GHz ... Biostar TForce4SLI 939 ... 2GB (1GB X 2) XMS Corsair DDR400 ... PNY 9600GSO 768MB ... 2X 7200.2 Seagate Barracuda 160GB ... Cooler Master Centurion 5 ATX ... Antec TruePower Trio 550W ... Windows Vista 32-bit Premium ... Acer H213H 21.5" 1920X1080
JeffK91 is offline  
Old 08-22-2005, 11:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

YOUR MOTHERBOARD CANNOT HOLD PCI-E CARDS. PCI-E IS DIFFERENT FROM PCI. JUST FROM THE FACT YOU HAVE AN ATHLON XP MEANS YOUR AGP BASED.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-23-2005, 11:26 AM   #10 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

LOL
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.