sharing a hd - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2010, 04:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default sharing a hd

im going to college soon, and taking a laptop and a desktop. I have alot of media on my desktops main and secondary hd's, and i want to access that from the laptop also. how would i accomplish this?
__________________

__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 07-25-2010, 07:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,776
Default Re: sharing a hd

Unless you want to access the media on both comps at the same time, you could get a hard drive enclosure and turn the desktop's secondary drive into an external storage drive. They cost about $30 for a decent USB 2.0 enclosure.

The other way is to use a crossover cable, which is a differently wired ethernet cable which allows you to connect two computers directly via the ethernet ports.

There is also something called a NAS (Network Attached Storage, I believe), which is principally an external storage drive(s) which is accessed via the network. However these cost $200+ to set up a halfway decent one.

Which way sounds better?
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 07-25-2010, 07:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: sharing a hd

another idea is maybe like remote access, like i know i used to use hamachi to make computers w internet look like they were lan, but that would be slower than direct connect
__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 07-25-2010, 08:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: sharing a hd

best way and cheapest would be external hdd. Did the same thing between my desktop and macbook for college. or like yami said, crossover cable, but you have to have two available LAN slots on your mobo(One for internet access and the second for the crossover)
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 07-25-2010, 10:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,776
Default Re: sharing a hd

Quote:
Originally Posted by hmammen View Post
but you have to have two available LAN slots on your mobo(One for internet access and the second for the crossover)
That's true, though you could share the internet connection from the laptop's wireless to the desktop.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 07-25-2010, 10:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: sharing a hd

also true.
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 07-30-2010, 09:16 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,776
Default Re: sharing a hd

Quote:
Originally Posted by taintedplay View Post
another idea is maybe like remote access, like i know i used to use hamachi to make computers w internet look like they were lan, but that would be slower than direct connect
I would suggest you do that, then, if you are familiar with how it will be set up, and it does what you want.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet connection sharing behind a router KSoD Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 03-01-2016 11:32 AM
Network Sharing MindoverMaster Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 0 04-17-2010 02:17 PM
how to turn off sharing completely hollyoaks777 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 08-02-2009 01:25 PM
Folder Sharing Nightmare (Again) CalcProgrammer1 Microsoft Windows and Software 0 12-06-2008 01:52 PM
Help with internet connection sharing!! philbar71 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 08-06-2007 05:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.