Is This Setup Compatible? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-01-2005, 02:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default Is This Setup Compatible?

I am about to order, and I am 95% sure that everything is compatible and everything that I need is there, but I wanted to be assured by someone else first.

So is everything there?
Is it all compatible?
Any suggestions or replacements?

Thanks

Setup:

Case

Motherboard

Video Card

Power Supply

Processor

Memory

Hard Drive

Key Board

Monitor

CD/DVD Drive

OS

Please Note I already have a great mouse and excellent JBL speaker system, so obviously I'm not buying new ones.
__________________

Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 10-01-2005, 03:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

Bad link. I don't think you want any one to access your account anyway.
__________________

__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 10-01-2005, 04:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

Edit: Nevermind, I just posted each item individually on my first post
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 10-01-2005, 04:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

a little description would be nice, instead of having to click each link
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-01-2005, 06:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

I don't think you'll get a lot of approval for the Gigabyte mobo. Most people here will recommend a DFI board. perhaps this one...DFI LanParty UT nF4-D Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4-4X ATX AMD Motherboard

Processor: a lot of people here will tell you to get a 3200+ and overclock it.
__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 10-01-2005, 07:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PZEROFGH
a little description would be nice, instead of having to click each link
What description do you need? I just need those three questions answered :P

It's not that hard to click the link.
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 10-01-2005, 07:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

yeah but its annoying as hell to click every one when you can just provide a quick description..
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 10-01-2005, 07:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

Sorry I'm not going to do that. There is hardly any specifications on the web pages, which is why I don't see why you can't just click on them. But if it's really that hard. The reason I'm not going to do it is because I don't know what information is crucial and what is not.
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 10-01-2005, 10:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

Thanks for your help guys..
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 10-01-2005, 10:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

ok these are the problems:

get a Seagate Barracuda instead of that WD 80GB.
get the OEM version of XP
get a faster monitor, 16ms is pretty slow
get 1GB (2 x 512MB) of ram, dual channel is faster.

then your good.
__________________

__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.