Is this setup alright? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-10-2007, 01:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 375
Default Is this setup alright?

I haven't been active on the forums for a while so I'm not very familiar with current hardware offerings. I'm looking at buying a new computer soon and was wondering if this setup is a good one or if i could come up with a better one.

One thing that I am not sure about is my mobo. It only supports DDR2 533 and my RAM is DDR2 800 so if anyone could reccomend a mobo that supports DDR2 800 that would be great.

Here's the setup: http://blackhawk.hlgaming.com/files/...p-15691806.png

Thanks
__________________

SteveGTA is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 02:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: Is this setup alright?

I would switch the mobo to this- It is the same board but supports ddr2800.... and is 40$ more
Newegg.com - Buy Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!

I highly reccomend DFI by the way from personal experience.
__________________

__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 09:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 375
Default Re: Is this setup alright?

Alright I heard somewhere that Intel would be dropping the C2D prices sometime in April and came up with an Intel setup..

here's the new setup.
http://blackhawk.hlgaming.com/files/...9265691806.png

I would love some more feedback, I don't want to regret what I buy hehe.

(yea I love DFI mobos too but the Intel ones are pretty expensive :-\. I think I have the same one that you do in my current PC.)
SteveGTA is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 09:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 375
Default Re: Is this setup alright?

I am actually going with this mobo: Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-965P-DS3 LGA 775 Intel P965 Express ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

(I took a screenshot of the wrong tab in FF that had an older choice haha)
SteveGTA is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 09:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phantom118's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 724
Default Re: Is this setup alright?

Whats your maxmium budget?
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3282468
Phantom118 is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 09:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 375
Default Re: Is this setup alright?

i haven't really come up with anything yet but I would prefer to keep it at or below 1500. I am open to (almost) anything though so if you have an idea that would cost a few more bucks I am more than willing to consider it.
SteveGTA is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 09:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phantom118's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 724
Default Re: Is this setup alright?

I was going to recommend the 640mb version if your going to be playing games on a large monitor and with high resolutions...

but

after some reading it seems that the 320mb dosent fall to short of the 640.
MADSHRIMPS - Hardware Reviews ,Crazy Projects, Modding Tutorials and Overclocking

they say in the conculsion:
The lack of 320Mb on the cheaper GTS only becomes noticeable when you run your games at extremely high resolutions with very high AA levels. If you’re running at 1600x1200 or more modest 1280x1024 resolutions you’d have to look very hard to find a performance difference.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3282468
Phantom118 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Whats Your Console Gaming Setup ! Oreo General Gaming 16 04-19-2007 12:03 PM
WC Setup Ronnie New Systems | Building and Buying 4 04-01-2007 07:46 PM
2 Router setup...possible? BoysNightOut Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 13 03-31-2007 06:37 PM
SATA hard drive not recognized in Windows XP setup bcase21 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 03-31-2007 12:40 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.