Setting up a SATA Hard drive problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-16-2006, 07:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 42
Send a message via AIM to Tymetwister
Default Setting up a SATA Hard drive problem

This will probably turn out to be a simple and obvious solution, but I have a SATA hard drive I'm trying to install... I have just connected the SATA cable only to the motherboard. When I go into the XP Setup I get "Setup did not find any hard disk drives installed on your computer."

I feel like I'm probably missing a simple step to the process here. Are there any other cables I must connect to the hard drive before it will be recognized? Any help is appreciated.
__________________

Tymetwister is offline  
Old 05-16-2006, 07:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Did you connect the power cable?
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 05-16-2006, 09:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 42
Send a message via AIM to Tymetwister
Default

I think that's the problem... my PSU didn't come with a SATA Power cable. Well, that explains it I guess. We live and learn, right
Tymetwister is offline  
Old 05-16-2006, 10:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Before you go out and buy a new powersupply, I'll make sure you know you can just buy a molex to SATA adaptor.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 05-16-2006, 10:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 42
Send a message via AIM to Tymetwister
Default

Yeah, luckily I found one in the box that my motherboard came in. Problem solved!
Tymetwister is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.