Is this set up any good? Looking for help/opinions. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-16-2009, 12:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Question Is this set up any good? Looking for help/opinions.

hey guys im new to these forums lookin for help. I've picked out all the parts from what i believe to be a pretty nice PC for the $500-$600 price range. Here's the set up. Let me know what you think, maybe throw in your own opinions and also let me know if I'm missing anything. Also, what do i need to get the 9800 gtx working on a lcd tv with hdmi. I've heard the 9800 gtx needs a dvi to hdmi adaptor???

all products purchased on newegg.com by the way. feel free to suggest things, im not the computer person i was 6 years ago so i need help badly lol.

Case: Rosewill Wind Knight Gaming ATX Mid Tower Computer Case with pre-installed 2x 120mm Fan, Support up to 1x 140mm top fan, 2x 140mm side fan, 1x 140mm front fan, 1x 120mm rear fan

Processor: AMD Phenom II X3 720 2.8GHz Socket AM3 95W Triple-Core Black Processor Model

GPU: EVGA 512-P3-N871-AR GeForce 9800 GTX+ 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP

Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-MA790GPT-UD3H AM3 AMD 790GX HDMI ATX AMD

HDD: Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 ST3500418AS 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive

Power supply: SPARKLE ATX-350PN-B204 350W ATX 12V 2.0 Power Supply - OEM

Memory: CORSAIR XMS3 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model CMX4GX3M2A1600C9

DVD rom: LG DVD Burner - Bulk Black SATA Model (dvd burner im sure plays dvd's right?)

I've also bought some thermal paste that i know ill need. is there anything else? how does that set up look?? Thanks.
__________________

blacklabel67k is offline  
Old 12-16-2009, 03:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Is this set up any good? Looking for help/opinions.

theres a really good combo with that cpu and mobo, saves you $40 so pick that up.
Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!

that is a crap psu and it would most likely not power your rig. dont cheap out on the power supply.

get this one instead.
Newegg.com - Antec BP550 Plus 550W Continuous Power ATX12V V2.2 Modular Active PFC Power Supply - Power Supplies

and for $5 more, get this graphics card instead, its better than a 9800gtx+ by a good bit.
XFX Radeon HD 4870 Video Card - 512MB GDDR5, PCI Express 2.0 x16, CrossFireX Ready, (Dual Link) Dual DVI, with FREE Stormrise Game at TigerDirect.com

the case, hdd, and ram you picked are fine, you can keep those.

and switch the burner to this one.
Newegg.com - Sony Optiarc Black 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 12X DVD+R DL 24X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 12X DVD-RAM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM 2MB Cache SATA DVD/CD Rewritable Drive - CD / DVD Burners

with these changes, your parts should total a little over your budget @ $610, but it will be worth it.
__________________

Muffin Man is offline  
Old 12-16-2009, 03:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Is this set up any good? Looking for help/opinions.

The brand sparkle is ok, but like muffin man said, get a higher wattage one.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-16-2009, 04:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: Is this set up any good? Looking for help/opinions.

alright ill def. swap for those. what about the psu. im really low on cash so i gutta be cheap as possible. do you think like 500w is enough?
blacklabel67k is offline  
Old 12-16-2009, 05:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Is this set up any good? Looking for help/opinions.

500W will be plenty.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 11:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Japan
Posts: 14
Default Re: Is this set up any good? Looking for help/opinions.

The 350 watt psu wont do . Definetly need something around 450 (still a bit low though ) or from 500 to 550 . The graphics cards can use a fair bit of juice so 500 would be ok probably.
__________________

freezer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for good Headset philbar71 Computer Audio and Multimedia 0 07-20-2009 04:13 PM
Memory Testing - What's good? Ethereal_Dragon Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 14 06-09-2009 11:08 AM
how to properly set up swap drive with windows XP EricB Microsoft Windows and Software 10 04-27-2009 11:34 PM
Sound Card Tips EricB Computer Audio and Multimedia 2 02-18-2008 01:37 AM
A good fan controller? MildTweeker Overclocking and Modding 11 09-04-2007 06:27 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.