A server I got for free, will this work? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-24-2007, 02:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Cool A server I got for free, will this work?

-Intel SC5295UP Pedestal Server Chassis, 350W power supply
-Intel S3000AH, SATA RAID, DDR2, 1066MHz FSB, ATX
-Intel Xeon X3220 Quad-Core CPU, 2.4GHz, 8MB cache, 1066MHz FSB
-DDR2 2x512MB 667MHz PC2-5300 Kingston Module
-Seagate 2x80GB SATA-300 HDD, 7200RPM, 8MB cache
-Sony 18x DVD+/-RW Dual-Layer Internal SATA drive, NO SOFTWARE, black
-Sony 1.44MB Floppy Drive, Black


I was going to go all and buy a new gaming rig.. But I need serious opinions on this matter please, because I do want a top of the line style rig...

Obviously the mobo and ram aren't exactly what I would be looking for on a high end gaming rig.. My main question though, would this ram and mobo be enough power for "high end" quality?...

The board is a server board so I'm seriously questioning its ability as well as the fact that the ram might not be overclockable at all (it's probably low end kingston )


Thanks for the help guys!
__________________

Demalii is offline  
Old 07-24-2007, 09:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 184
Default Re: A server I got for free, will this work?

Well, you would want 2GB ram for gaming... also since its a server MB, it will be designed to handle multi-threaded applications more then games, which for the most part only run 1 thread. So you should be able to run video-editing or rendering or other programs that run multi-threads very well, but gaming, not so much. I hear the dual cores perform better at gaming then the quad cores.
__________________

__________________
Tech TV is Back!
www.dl.tv
-- watch it, its good stuff.
-------------------------------
AMD Athlon 64 3400+
Powered by: Antec Earth Watts
-------------------------------
ssjheero_yuy99 is offline  
Old 07-24-2007, 10:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: A server I got for free, will this work?

How did you get that kickass server for free?
__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline  
Old 07-25-2007, 03:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: A server I got for free, will this work?

as above lucky you for getting it for free!!!! I would leave it as a server for media usage and storage if you create into your main computer for your home network and then add a 36gb raptor to your actual gaming machine and use the server for all storage just through a simple windows file share of the entire hdd disk
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 07-25-2007, 03:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: A server I got for free, will this work?

That is such a waste of a xeon quad core server with a gig of ram...

File Servers should be beaten down pentium 3s with more gbs of HD space than mhz of processor.
__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 12:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default Re: A server I got for free, will this work?

so really what I need to try and do is sell this thing correct?...
Demalii is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 01:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: A server I got for free, will this work?

Yeah you can definitely get a fairly pretty penny for it, consider it funding for your gaming rig.

oh, and give me 100 bucks and well call it even
__________________

__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Outlook 2000 problems in Windows Server 2003 pcschris Microsoft Windows and Software 1 05-24-2007 05:36 PM
Unable to save work into server coolray Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 6 04-20-2007 02:01 PM
Windows Home Server SDK Available Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 04-05-2007 11:21 PM
Cannot ping when server & pc on same switch htcs Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 7 04-05-2007 11:31 AM
Help with MS Exchange Server 2003!!! Fly4High Microsoft Windows and Software 1 04-03-2007 05:14 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.