Serial com how to assure it is working properly? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2007, 03:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 229
Default Serial com how to assure it is working properly?

I have got new laptop Dell Latitude D620 with win2003 OS SP1 all updates installed.

I have been experiencing a problem: when I used two emulators : HyperTerminal or SecureCRT, I can not connect to Cisco devices ( not only one device,,,,that means there is no possibility that a device is defected) .

There is no problem with a cable that connects my PC to a Cisco device, because the same cable with another PC is working fine.

There is no problem with windows OS 2003, because when I installed the fresh copy of 2003, the same problem is still going on!!!!!!

I have been advised that might be the problem with serial com port.

How can I verify (assure) that com port is working properly, and the problem with something else ?

I have checked BOIS, com enabled

And you can the Figure of device manager in the link below as well:
http://img243.imageshack.us/img243/8...workingfm4.jpg


Any other suggestions ? Do I need to do some test ?

Thanks
__________________

zillah is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 10:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

update all your chipset drivers and any other PCI devices you may have.

drivers for XP:
http://support.dell.com/support/down...&os=WW1&osl=EN

drivers for win 2003:
http://support.dell.com/support/down...os=WNET&osl=EN
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 11:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 229
Default

Quote:
update all your chipset drivers and any other PCI devices you may have.
I was aware of that, but I could not get it work
zillah is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 11:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

so you tried the drivers and still didnt work? or you couldnt get the drivers to work? if its the latter go into device manager:

start>run and type devmgmt.msc

then you can right click devices choose update drivers and go to the folders manually so the drivers update. If its not the right driver it normally it wont try updating.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 11:19 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 229
Default

Quote:
so you tried the drivers and still didnt work?
Yes I tried this and still the com does not work
zillah is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 11:20 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

this sounds similar to your situation try this solution:
http://www.taltech.com/support/troublsht/badport.htm
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 12:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 229
Default

What basically I did , I attached serial dial up modem to the laptop's com, and I installed the modem , it was installed successfully without any problem , and I run the modem diagnostic test, it was ok.

http://www.ni.com/support/serial/verhyper.htm
I could not see echo when I tried Serial port test!!!!
__________________

zillah is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.