Seperate hadrdrive for internet use? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-02-2008, 10:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 12
Default Seperate hadrdrive for internet use?

For the internet, downloading and such, would it be safer to have a small IDE harddrive for use on the internet?

I have a Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L motherboard. It has 4 SATA slots and 1 IDE slot. I am currently using 2 SATA slots for CD drive combos and 1 SATA for 250G HDD. I am planning on getting a second SATA 250G harddrive in the futere. XP Pro6 4x

Thanks
__________________

ScttLee is offline  
Old 02-02-2008, 01:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default Re: Seperate hadrdrive for internet use?

Safer as in reliability? I don't think it matters either way, the advantage SATA has over IDE is speed, and you can't download at those speeds anyway. So for downloading and web stuff, you should see no speed loss or any less reliability issues either way.
__________________

__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 02-02-2008, 03:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Seperate hadrdrive for internet use?

Hello,

Do you mean saving all your downloads to a separate, dedicated hard drive?

You'd gain little if not no benefit in terms of security.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 02-02-2008, 04:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: Seperate hadrdrive for internet use?

You would, however, gain a huge security advantage if you browsed the net in a VM..especially if you view "questionable" content.

Just make sure to backup the VM once you have flash/java/ect configged, resetting it up once you become overloaded with spyware is no fun. Its much easier to delete it and boot from the backup.
__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline  
Old 02-02-2008, 06:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 49
Default Re: Seperate hadrdrive for internet use?

what is VM?
whitefro is offline  
Old 02-03-2008, 04:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: Seperate hadrdrive for internet use?

Virtual Machine.

It allows you to run a new OS in a box on your current one. You can boot it and shut it down, install aps onto it, ect, and there is no way anything in the virtual machine can affect your main pc.

Vmware has a free version of their software. Lacks some of the features, but works. Also there qemu and virtualbox.
__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline  
Old 02-03-2008, 04:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 12
Default Re: Seperate hadrdrive for internet use?

Thanks for the info.
__________________

ScttLee is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running Repair from seperate HD ?? Katmandu Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-05-2007 06:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.