Sempron Processor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-27-2005, 10:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 592
Default Sempron Processor

Im buying a AMD Sempron processor, do I buy the Palermo Core, or the Thoroughbred Core? I think the difference is the FSB, Palermo is 800MHz, and Thoroughbred is 333MHz. Which core is the better core?
__________________

__________________
ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Intel Core i7 2600k
16GB DDR3 G-Skill Ripjaws
1TB 7200 Segagte Drive
eVGA GeForce 570
Samsung Blu-Ray Drive
Antec 850 Watt PSU
Windows 7 Professional
Blackmoore is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 10:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Hmm, 800MHz FSB or 333MHZ FSB...I wonder...

Just go with the Palmero dude. Get a Sempron 64.
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 10:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 592
Default

Well, im on a tight budget. So every penny counts. im building a PC for a friend, who only wants to play World of Warcraft, and thats all he cares about. He gave me a budget of $350-$400. So im thinking a Sempron 2800+. But I cant decide on the video card. I am thinking a 128MB eVGA 6200, cause there is no way I can squeeze in the 6600GT. Which is what id like to get. But is this the 6200 I want to get? Or is there a better one?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130241
__________________
ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Intel Core i7 2600k
16GB DDR3 G-Skill Ripjaws
1TB 7200 Segagte Drive
eVGA GeForce 570
Samsung Blu-Ray Drive
Antec 850 Watt PSU
Windows 7 Professional
Blackmoore is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 11:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

maybe an amd xp cpu and mobo then u can get the 6600gt. i think.
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 11:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 592
Default

Well, I could always move down in processor speed. Like a Spempron 64 2500+. I just dont know how much speed or preformance hes going to loose in the game. All he want is for it not to skip frames in game pretty much. Also, a 6600GT is near twice as much if not more than the 6200TC, how much am speed and power am I going to loose if I stick with the 6200TC?
__________________
ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Intel Core i7 2600k
16GB DDR3 G-Skill Ripjaws
1TB 7200 Segagte Drive
eVGA GeForce 570
Samsung Blu-Ray Drive
Antec 850 Watt PSU
Windows 7 Professional
Blackmoore is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 11:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 592
Default

Just to give you an idea of what hes running now, hes running a 733Mhz Celeron Processor coupled with only 128Mb's of Ram, and an onboard video card. He is currently unable to run in on his own computer, and always has to go did his Step Dads house to play, and hes getting sick of it. So pretty much anything I build for him is going to give his a huge, noticable boost in speed. Hes Step Dads computer is fairly nice, but for some reason it too is only running onboard video.... figures, its a Dell.
__________________
ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Intel Core i7 2600k
16GB DDR3 G-Skill Ripjaws
1TB 7200 Segagte Drive
eVGA GeForce 570
Samsung Blu-Ray Drive
Antec 850 Watt PSU
Windows 7 Professional
Blackmoore is offline  
Old 09-28-2005, 12:51 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 198
Default

wow is not too demanding, u should go down a lil and get the 2500+ and the 6600gt than the 2800+ and the 6200, ull notice a better increase with the 2500and6600gt ive read some bad reviews on the 6200
contry is offline  
Old 09-28-2005, 12:53 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 592
Default

Alright, thanks for the info.
__________________
ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Intel Core i7 2600k
16GB DDR3 G-Skill Ripjaws
1TB 7200 Segagte Drive
eVGA GeForce 570
Samsung Blu-Ray Drive
Antec 850 Watt PSU
Windows 7 Professional
Blackmoore is offline  
Old 09-28-2005, 01:03 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 252
Default

if this helps......
http://hardware.gamespot.com/Story-S...body_pagenum=4
__________________
TERRORZONA REPRAZENT
pwnzer
onyo is offline  
Old 09-28-2005, 01:18 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 592
Default

Looks like the 6600GT will be more than powerful enough. They did say that an Athlon XP would bog down the Video Card, causing it to run slow. But im betting that the Sempron 64 Processor with 1GB of PC3200 Corsair Value Ram will be more than enough power to keep World of Warcraft running fast.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Intel Core i7 2600k
16GB DDR3 G-Skill Ripjaws
1TB 7200 Segagte Drive
eVGA GeForce 570
Samsung Blu-Ray Drive
Antec 850 Watt PSU
Windows 7 Professional
Blackmoore is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.