sempron or athlon xp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-23-2006, 07:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Default sempron or athlon xp

Okay my neighbors kids want a new computer but cant afford it so I thought i would build them one for free.Umm I was thinking about a sempron cpu(socket A) but then I heard there no good for gaming at all.Then a athlon xp 3000+ came into the picture and I was likng all the specs but the 333mhz FSB.I'am only going for little bit of gaming.Heard that the xp3000+ is pretty much like a northwood p4.
I was thinking of getting this:http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...279&CatId=1912
Ohh yeah can they be OCed very well or no go.
__________________

fr34ky is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 08:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 81
Default

well, if you're building it for your friend for free and you don't want to spend lots and they arent using it for games this would be better than nothing. If you want to get them a decent one get a amd 64 3000 socket 939 not a socket A. It can OC pretty good too.
__________________

Ezekiel is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 08:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Default

yeah the more I read aobut it the more of a rip off it is.That is a good idea and I found that cpu on newegg with a mobo discount/combo deal.
fr34ky is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 08:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

That's a decent system, except for a few problems.

1) No OS. If he wants to game, I'd assume you'd want to get Windows.
2) No AGP card. He can't play games on onboard video.
3) Kinda outdated, but still, if he's getting it for free, then he wont care.

Also, if you're buying him a computer, then you're a pretty generous person. Awesome!
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 10:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 155
Default

yeah man you really are a very generous person!! i would go for the amd 3000 socket 939 also, coz i also beleive that system on tigerdirect is a ripoff!!!!
tariqadkhan is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 11:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Socket 754 is always an option. Sempron 64's aren't that bad of gamers.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 12:43 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405
Default

socket 754s are VERY underrated & VERY worth considering for THIS computer BUILD as a present for NEIGHBOURS!
__________________
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 09:28 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AnthraX
That's a decent system, except for a few problems.

1) No OS. If he wants to game, I'd assume you'd want to get Windows.
2) No AGP card. He can't play games on onboard video.
3) Kinda outdated, but still, if he's getting it for free, then he wont care.

Also, if you're buying him a computer, then you're a pretty generous person. Awesome!
How is a 3000+ 939 socket outdated?
__________________
There's no place like /home.
Jayce is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 11:49 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

I wasn't talking about the Socket 939 3000+. I was talking about the computer in his link. It's a Socket A Athlon XP 3000+.

Also, I too would recommend the Sempron 64 in a Socket 754. I have one in my second computer and it runs games smoothly. Only bottleneck is the video card.
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 05:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Default

This is what Ill be getting:

CPU:AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Venice:
http://www.newegg.com/product/Produc...82E16819103606
MOBO:BIOSTAR TForce6100
http://secure.newegg.com/NewVersion/...sp?submit=view
RAM:OCZ Premier Series 512MB
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820146846
Any final Thoughts
__________________

__________________
fr34ky is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.