Sempron 64 vs. The Barton - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-06-2005, 09:12 PM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Why are we arguing about Athlon 64s and Sempron 64s? Thats not even the topic, lol.
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 09:35 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I'd go for the Sempron 64.
they have a P-rating for a reason. the Sempron 2800+ outperforms the Barton 2500+, plus has 64-bit support.
I've also heard they will get a fair overclock, because they run cool.
oh yeah, Athlon XP's run pretty hot. I had to get a new heatsink for mine.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 11:05 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheMajor
With socket 939 you can run your memory in dual-channel. Huge difference.
Btw,
I didn't say the Barton would outperform the Sempron. I would just wait a few months and get an Athlon
i wanna get one by Christmas, and i'm low on dough. I have $550, not a penny more, and i gotta get everything, monitor, mouse, keyboard, speakers, etc.
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 11:11 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
Cache makes about .05MHz of difference, and the Socket difference would account for nothing noticeable.
0.05MHz? Don't think so, to give you an average number doubling the cache size should roughly give performance benefits equal to about 200MHz AMD clock cycles...of course it depends on the actual processes in question but it's nowhere near as insignificant as 0.05MHz

Sempron 64 will clearly edge out an Athlon XP in memory bandwidth as they'll have the integrated memory controllers same as other AMD64s...but that's not to say the Athlon XP won't be able to keep up in raw power
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 11:25 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

i'm just gonna do a ton of 3D animation, rendering etc, and a lot of photoshop texturing too, and a few games. I think i'll be good enough, thanks guys!!
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 11:29 PM   #16 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gaara
0.05MHz? Don't think so, to give you an average number doubling the cache size should roughly give performance benefits equal to about 200MHz AMD clock cycles...of course it depends on the actual processes in question but it's nowhere near as insignificant as 0.05MHz
My Athlon 64 3200+ @ 2.7 is side by side with a FX-55, which has twice the cache. I already explained the testing I did to find that out. I assumed that because its half the cache the difference would be half as much, but I guess that was a bad guess. No more than .1GHz though. My 3200+ was actually a TINY bit better than the FX-55 (same exact rest of the system) in 3 benchmarks.
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.