Sempron 3300 or Athlon 3000 XP(both socket A)?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-23-2006, 04:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 11
Default Sempron 3300 or Athlon 3000 XP(both socket A)??

Ive been doing some research online trying to find out what would be the better processor. Im currently running the AMD Athlon 3000 XP+, but i recently purchased a package deal from Tiger Direct and it came with a 3300 Sempron. I was just wondering if anybody knew from any experience which would be the better processor.

I did find out that the Sempron 3300 processors are basically a Athlon 3200 XP. Im not sure if that is true or not, but if so that would mean that it is faster than my current processor.

Any information would help. Thanks in advance.
__________________

Liquidz is offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 04:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 325
Default

if thats wat u herd then its probebly correct
check wikipedia
__________________

__________________
Athlon 64 3200+
GigaByte GA K8N-SLI
1GB Corsair Select Value
GigaByte 7300GS
80GB maxtor Hard Disk
Samsung Writemaster DVD-RWDL 16x
Thermaltake mambo case w/ 430 PSU
Windows XP Pro
17\" Proview LCD
mophead740 is offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 04:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
sailpog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 498
Default

yay for sempron!!!!!
i have a sempron 3400 runs very nice
__________________
<A HREF="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banner.asp?friend=43585">
<IMG SRC="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banners/60x120.gif" BORDER="0">
</A>
sailpog is offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 04:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Hiphopapotamus.
 
b0dge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Location: Posts: 61,784
Posts: 557
Default

From what i can see, you're right. The Socket A Sempron 3300+ is just a rebadged Athlon 3200+ but with half it's L2 cache disabled.

I'm not sure how much of a performance increase (if any) you'll see, but the only way to find out is to try it. You should be able to swap CPUs without any major software hassles, just try something like Super Pi Mod with each processor and see wihc one is quicker...

Oh, and whichever one you don't use, I'll be happy to take off you're hands.
__________________
Don't ask questions, just click my rep tick. Now.
b0dge is offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 05:28 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 325
Default

nah dont giv it to bodge
just put it into a spare comp as u pick up spare parts
__________________
Athlon 64 3200+
GigaByte GA K8N-SLI
1GB Corsair Select Value
GigaByte 7300GS
80GB maxtor Hard Disk
Samsung Writemaster DVD-RWDL 16x
Thermaltake mambo case w/ 430 PSU
Windows XP Pro
17\" Proview LCD
mophead740 is offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 08:21 AM   #6 (permalink)
Hiphopapotamus.
 
b0dge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Location: Posts: 61,784
Posts: 557
Default

Don't listen to mophead!

EDIT: And I'll happily pay for it...
__________________
Don't ask questions, just click my rep tick. Now.
b0dge is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 12:51 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 11
Default

haha...thanks for all the help guys...ill try and swap it out within the next few days and see which one is better. Ill post back with my findings.

Ill probably keep the not used processor and build a simple pc for misc junk...thx again
Liquidz is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 06:11 AM   #8 (permalink)
Hiphopapotamus.
 
b0dge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Location: Posts: 61,784
Posts: 557
Default

Cool, no worries.
__________________

__________________
Don't ask questions, just click my rep tick. Now.
b0dge is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.