Seeking guidance on a budget gaming PC

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wintermute

Beta member
Where to begin? I'm trying to build a gaming computer for around $500. I've never built my own computer before, and I have a fairly weak understanding of how computers work. I know what the key components do, like RAM, the CPU and so on, and I know the difference between an AGP slot versus a PCI slot, or a SATA and an IDE cable, but I'm pushing myself trying to get a build together that not only works, but works well.

I've spent the last ten hours researching the process and creating an idea for the machine, looking up all sorts of tech crap along the way like memory latency and volt rails (or something like that) that I never wanted to know about. I've also read some of the stickied guides on this forum which were of some help, but I need a little more.

So I suppose I'll lay out what I've come up with thus far, voice my questions and concerns, and hopefully someone can aid me. As is specified in the title, I use my computer primarily for gaming. This rig doesn't need to be top of the line (and it won't be for $500), but I'd like to be able to play something more graphically intensive than my old GeForce4 Ti 4200 and single stick of 256 RAM can handle. And a word of warning, I can see this post is going to turn out kind of long, but I want to try and be comprehensive, and not come off as some noob begging the veterans to build him a PC. Anyway, on with the show...

CPU -- Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Quad Q8300 Yorkfield 2.5GHz 4MB L2 Cache LGA 775 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor - Processors - Desktops