Seeking advice on upgrade with $600 budget. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-25-2006, 09:07 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jeremy
only the ULi based mobos have REAL agp support , mobos thats based on other chipsets that have agp+pci-e have FAKE AGP (agp that runs incredibly slow on the pci bus)
Ah, mabye that's what I read. I think I remember them mentioning ULi and fake AGP. They must have said ULi didn't have this and I read it wrong or I have a bad memory.

Thanks
__________________

RayMoses is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 09:24 PM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

keep ur CPU, i dont think there is anything wrong with it except maybe the Cache. get a new MOBO, RAM, and a Video Card. lets see here

DFI Lanparty UT Ultra-Dhttp://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813136152
$122

Go with the Option 1 ram.

Your Video Card looks good, hmm lets see.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130247

and a new PSU
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103931

Totals about $569, i didnt calculate rebate, if any.
__________________

john3 is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 10:31 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

while his cpu isnt that slow he'll get higher FPS with an athlon 64 (and the whole purpose of this upgrade is better gaming performance) , the cache is 512kb theres nothin wrong with that , the mobo you mentioned its an athlon64 socket 939 mobo and he got a socket 478 pentium4.. it aint compatible

jeremy is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 10:55 PM   #14 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

i would recommend 2 GB RAM and a larger hard drive, but i think RDRAM is hard to find, because only Dell uses it.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 11:21 PM   #15 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

oh i thought his CPU was an AMD, cause someone said something about using a s939 mobo, so it though it was AMD. k lets revise it now.....

DFI Lanparty UT Ultra-Dhttp://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813136152
$122

Go with the Option 1 ram.

AMD Athlon x2 3800+

and a new PSU
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16817103931
john3 is offline  
Old 03-27-2006, 02:57 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
i would recommend 2 GB RAM and a larger hard drive, but i think RDRAM is hard to find, because only Dell uses it.
Yeah my computer isn't a dell but the MB I got way back was a big mistake. Finding ram for it is not only hard but when I have it's very very expensive. I've got 4x256, so to upgrade to 2gb I would be replacing some slots and I'd end up spending well over a 1000 bucks.

Quote:
Originally posted by john3
DFI Lanparty UT Ultra-Dhttp://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813136152
$122

Go with the Option 1 ram.

AMD Athlon x2 3800+

and a new PSU
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16817103931
Hey thanks for the advice, though I can't use that mobo because my video card is AGP. Though that's a good mobo, my friend just bought that a few months ago and his new system has been running very well with it.



Well I ended up coming to the decision last night that I'm just not going to upgrade. I'll tuck that 600 bucks away and use it next year for some nice new speakers when I build a new PC with tax money.

Thanks again to those who offered advice.
__________________

RayMoses is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.