Securing a lose I/O Shield - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-18-2007, 05:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 67
Default Securing a lose I/O Shield

I'm building a pc for my father and the motherboard's I/O shield that came with the motherboard is very lose when fit on the computer case. I got the computer to boot up, the keyboard comes on but then turns off. And I'm having problems with the mouse too.

I believe it may be the I/O shield, maybe not, but I need to secure it on better.

My keyboard and mouse work perfectly, as I'm using them now.

The motherboard is a MSI K8MM3-V.
__________________

__________________
Current PC Build:

MSI Motherboard K8MM3-V
AMD Sempron 3000+
WD 160GB IDE h.d.d
LC 52x cd-rw
1 GB G.Skill RAM
cnelson8611 is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 06:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

you note that the keyboard and mouse do not work right, you did use the motherboard standoffs (if the case requires them) didnt you? I mad ethe mistake on my first custom build of not doing that and fried the board and those were the symtoms that i got
__________________

__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 06:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 67
Default

Standoffs? Do you mean spacers? yes I did use them, unless you are referring to something else.

The keyboard works when I first bootup, I can use it in the BIOS. But when booting into XP, the keyboard shuts off.

Also, the mouse doesn't work very good either. The right side of the I/O shield is very lose and moves when I plug/unplug the keyboard or mouse.
__________________
Current PC Build:

MSI Motherboard K8MM3-V
AMD Sempron 3000+
WD 160GB IDE h.d.d
LC 52x cd-rw
1 GB G.Skill RAM
cnelson8611 is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 06:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

yes i was referring the spacers...

Well, try and completely removing the I/O shield (it wont hurt), about the keyboard not working?..... have you tried another keyboard and what type is the current one? (USB, PS/2?)
__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 06:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 67
Default

The keyboard is the same keyboard I'm using now, and mouse. So I know it works. It's a ps2. I could try to see if the keyboard/mouse works without the I/O shield.
__________________
Current PC Build:

MSI Motherboard K8MM3-V
AMD Sempron 3000+
WD 160GB IDE h.d.d
LC 52x cd-rw
1 GB G.Skill RAM
cnelson8611 is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 08:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

well, also try USB if you can
__________________

__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.