Searching for new graphics card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-04-2006, 06:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
Default Searching for new graphics card

I have a Dell 2400 Intel Celeron CPU 2.40GHz 640MB ram computer and I'm using the defult graphics card which isn't really any good. A while ago I baught a GeForce FX 5200 gfx card but it finally burnt up and they refused to replace it.

I am now hunting for a new graphics card and I have very little to spend and probably shouldn't even be trying to buy one... I play alot of really hardcore 3D mmorpgs on my computer so I'd need one that would play them smoothly yet be able to stand the abuse.

I was told the 5000 series burns up quickly but the 6000 series has the problem fixed. If somebody can suggest a card that would work for my computer that would fit my needs, it would be much appriatiated. I know about computers but gfx cards have alot I don't understand...
__________________

OutlawCecil is offline  
Old 06-04-2006, 06:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

How much have you got to spend? 6600gt is $100...
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-04-2006, 07:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

If you had about $150 this would be a good card to XFX Geforce 6800XT PVT42KUDE3 Video Card - Retail The only problem with the 6800's are they are huge, They take the agp 3.0 spec to the max and if your case isn't fully to spec (and alot are not) then you might have to move some things around.

This is still a pretty good card and is a bit cheaper, and no where near as long.
SAPPHIRE Radeon X1600PRO 100148L Video Card - Retail
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 06-04-2006, 08:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

a 6600gt would do the trick but perhaps you could look into a 6800xt/x1600xt or a 6800gs. there are cheaper alternatives but i would not consider them "real" alternatives for most people
Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-04-2006, 08:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

6600GT>6800XT

X1600XT is a nice choice, but then a 6800GS would beat it out. But it is hard to find AGP version of those.

What about just the regular 6800?
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 06-04-2006, 04:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Would all those work for my computer? I think I have PCI slots or whatever they are called which I guess makes it harder to find cards for. Yeah about $100 for a new card would be nice but I figured that's too low for the type of card I need.

Btw PCI express is something else, correct? And what exactly is the 256MB or whatever? Is it still good to get a better gfx card if it has less?
OutlawCecil is offline  
Old 06-04-2006, 04:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Correct, PCI and PCIE are different. You can use CPUZ to determine what you have (AGP or PCIE wise.)

It is better to have more memory, but not always as if the game doesn't utilise the extra, than it is wasted money, and in some early 256 cases decreased performance.

I think the 6600gt will be a good match for your system specs. Having more than 640mb of ram will be better money spent than getting a 6800GS.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-04-2006, 04:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
Default

wait so your saying I'd get a better framerate with more ram? I thought 640 ram was pretty darn good seeing as how most comps come with like 256. Hmm... I'll have to look into that. Ive seen some good ram prices lately too.
OutlawCecil is offline  
Old 06-04-2006, 04:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Gaming wise it is cutting it fine. When you get to higher settings, which these cards can handle you may notice it slightly choppy with having to use the hdd as virtual RAM.

256 is really poor for even running windows.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.