Seagate HDD jumper trouble - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-07-2008, 04:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: West Coast USA
Posts: 101
Question Seagate HDD jumper trouble

I just got a new Seagate 250GB hard drive, here: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148141


I'm having some trouble with the jumper block, as usual with Seagate. It shows how to configure as a Master, or for Cable Select, but says nothing about how to configure as a Slave. (I'm not even sure what Cable Select is!)

Would love some help on this please!
__________________

DJ EndurancE is offline  
Old 02-07-2008, 04:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: Seagate HDD jumper trouble

cable select is usually used by brand pc makers...
AT Attachment - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
the above may also answer your other questions

let's go back further...you can normally ignore jumpers...
so how many drives do you have?
if you have this one drive only, you didn't need to do anything
__________________

atomic tofu is offline  
Old 02-07-2008, 06:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: West Coast USA
Posts: 101
Default Re: Seagate HDD jumper trouble

Thanks for the link -- some of that is a bit over my head though.

I currently have one hard drive in my computer, configured as Master, with the operating system on it. So I'd be adding this second one on the same primary IDE cable.

I've ignored jumpers before, and ran into lots of problems, so I'm just being careful here.
DJ EndurancE is offline  
Old 02-08-2008, 07:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: West Coast USA
Posts: 101
Lightbulb Re: Seagate HDD jumper trouble

Any other ideas?
DJ EndurancE is offline  
Old 02-08-2008, 10:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: Seagate HDD jumper trouble

take a really clear closeup pic of what you did
busy work day...maybe I can figure out something on the weekend, unless someone else...or you do
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 02-08-2008, 10:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: West Coast USA
Posts: 101
Smile Re: Seagate HDD jumper trouble

Yeah, surpised no one else has posted.


I'll get a picture up for ya by Saturday..................
DJ EndurancE is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 01:17 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: West Coast USA
Posts: 101
Exclamation Re: Seagate HDD jumper trouble

Okay, here's what's on the top face of the HDD. Other Seagates seem to use a similar graph.



DJ EndurancE is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 08:45 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: Seagate HDD jumper trouble

aight
master drive...set master jumper
slave drive...remove jumpers
typically you can hang the jumper off of the master, like turning it 90-180 degrees so that one pin is on, just to keep the jumper from getting lost

here, for future reference
Seagate Technology - ATA Jumper Settings

you can experiment with cable select if you want...have to have the right cable
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 03:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: West Coast USA
Posts: 101
Smile Re: Seagate HDD jumper trouble

Cool, thanks!

I'll bookmark that page for future referance -- I'm always getting confused by different jumper setups on different types and brands of HDDs, lol.


I got the disk in the computer now, and it auto configured itself as a slave, so everything's fine on that. But I'm having some trouble initializing it -- I'll post more on that in another topic.



Thanks for your help though!
__________________

DJ EndurancE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
C zone of IBM/Hitachi HDD SalvationDATA Laptops and Notebooks 0 12-27-2007 02:04 AM
Seagate 320 gig HDD Blitersety New Systems | Building and Buying 41 12-26-2007 02:21 AM
HDD configuration with Windows XP- an odd question Kisskerven New Systems | Building and Buying 6 10-20-2007 08:56 PM
FS Seagate 250GB SATA HDD Ronnie Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 4 10-11-2007 10:24 PM
HDD crash leo572 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 09-30-2007 10:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.