Seagate 400 GB external HDD shows only 372 GB? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-20-2006, 03:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 26
Default Seagate 400 GB external HDD shows only 372 GB?

I have a situation.

I bought a Seagate 400GB external HDD. But once I plug and play, I only see the max is 372 GB. Almost 30 GB lost. Can someone enlight me on this? Why is it like this? And how will I get it to be max at 400 GB?
__________________

yexusbeliever is offline  
Old 10-20-2006, 06:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

It is normal. HDD manufacturers use the decimal system (1000KB=1GB); operating systems use the binary system (1024KB=1GB).
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-20-2006, 08:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Check the 137GB sticky on this forum. Search for it.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 10-20-2006, 09:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

yeah it's all just to do with hdd manufacturers being sneaky. they define a gigabyte as being 1,000,000,000 bytes where as far as a computer is concerned a gigabyte is 1024x1024x1024 bytes (1024 being 2^10, a binary number). if you calculate 400,000,000,000 divide by the total of 1024x1024 you will get the number of gigabytes your hdd is reporting.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 10-21-2006, 12:36 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 26
Default

I feel almost as I have been tricked.

It would have been much easier for them to just say that it is 372GB HDD.

I guess since it looks good to keep, I will keep it. But that is bad marketing for them to say on the cover to be 400GB and only get 372GB.
yexusbeliever is offline  
Old 10-21-2006, 12:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

it's tricky but technically they're not lying, they're exploiting obscure facts. they use the symbol GB which technically is in multiples of 1000 the actual unit for binary numbers has an "i" in between e.g. GiB. that's how they get away with it.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 10-21-2006, 03:30 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default

For the rule of thumb, actual storage capacity is 93% of the advertised capacity, when the numbers are in GB. So 400GB * 93% = 372GB. There's a 7% missing due to the aforementioned difference in nomenclature.

This table will give you the actual size multiplier based on the unit used:

KB -> 97.7%
MB -> 95.4%
GB -> 93.1%
TB -> 91.0%
__________________

__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.