SDRAM Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-21-2012, 08:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
pro2a's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 382
Default SDRAM Question

My boss was throwing out some old computers (circa 2003) and he decided to give me the parts because he knows I build, repair and upgrade old and new towers.

I salvaged a good motherboard out of one of the towers, its an Intel D865GBF/D865GLC board. There is a good Pentium 4 processor in it. The heatsink is missing, there is no RAM and the BIOS battery is missing. The battery and heatsink are no issue, I can get those. It's the RAM I need to get for this board.

From the Intel manual this MoBo is rated for:
  • Four 184-pin, 2.5 V SDRAM Dual Inline Memory Module (DIMM) sockets
  • Dual channel 400/333/266 MHz DDR SDRAM interface
  • Designed to support up to 4 GB of system memory

It seems pretty strait forward, but I can't for the life of me find dual channel 400mhz SDRAM. If I buy some rated at 533 Mhz will the MoBo throttle it back to what it supports or will I end up with BSD's and other issues? I'm assuming from current experience I can tinker with that in BIOS, but on the older towers I'm not 100% sure. Thanks.

pro2a is offline  
Old 03-21-2012, 09:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
The Grinch
c0rr0sive's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,688
Default Re: SDRAM Question

All DDR is SDRAM.... Hence the term DDR SDRAM, DDR2/DDR3 is also a type of SDRAM, they just double up on clocks.

Just make sure you get a DDR 400 or so kit, and not plain old SDRAM.

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-21-2012, 09:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
MindoverMaster's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: SDRAM Question

Well, if it only takes up to DDR 400, it can use DDR 533, but it just will be clocked down to 400.

Any of these will do: - Computer Hardware, Memory, Desktop Memory, DDR 400 (PC 3200)
__________________ Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SDRAM for printer compatability question BKSinAZ Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 01-23-2006 03:20 PM
DDR and SDRAM question rx7i2 Overclocking and Modding 3 01-21-2006 10:13 AM
PC100 SDRAM & PC133 SDRAM Question Ares Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 11-28-2004 04:14 PM
sdram??? Gl\l0m!$h Overclocking and Modding 2 07-13-2004 05:48 PM
Question on sdram memory? nitrofc54 Overclocking and Modding 8 03-25-2004 11:54 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.