SDD only for OS.. worth it? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: Add a SSD to PC?
64GB - to ensure adequate space 4 66.67%
32GB - easily enough for an OS 1 16.67%
No - pocket the 50$ towards your next build 1 16.67%
Voters: 6. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-29-2014, 05:28 AM   #21 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: SDD only for OS.. worth it?

I'd like to know what all people are installing program wise onto their SSD to fill up 120GB. I have most common apps installed onto my SSD including more uncommon audio apps and without any games at all have like 70GB free. There are only a select few games that actually benefit from being installed onto the SSD.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 06:02 AM   #22 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: SDD only for OS.. worth it?

Honestly, for me, Diablo 3, Starcraft II, and PLEX eat up about 50GB together.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 07:57 AM   #23 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: SDD only for OS.. worth it?

Don't forget you'll need free space on the drive for over provisioning. I started out with a 90gb ocz drive but had to be sure I limited was was going into this drive all the time. Now that I have this 250gb EVO I'm not longer concerned about space issues. I'm sure that I'll eventually upgrade to a 500gb range ssd. I've seen 1tb ssd's on sale too
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 09:24 AM   #24 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: SDD only for OS.. worth it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
I'd like to know what all people are installing program wise onto their SSD to fill up 120GB. I have most common apps installed onto my SSD including more uncommon audio apps and without any games at all have like 70GB free. There are only a select few games that actually benefit from being installed onto the SSD.
Development tools take up a lot of space . Only have a 120gig on my work computer... and I'm down to about 20gig left.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe C View Post
Don't forget you'll need free space on the drive for over provisioning. I started out with a 90gb ocz drive but had to be sure I limited was was going into this drive all the time. Now that I have this 250gb EVO I'm not longer concerned about space issues. I'm sure that I'll eventually upgrade to a 500gb range ssd. I've seen 1tb ssd's on sale too
Seen the Samsung 840 EVO 1TB's on sale for <$400 I believe.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 09:46 AM   #25 (permalink)
The strange one
 
iParanormalx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: US
Posts: 1,168
Default Re: SDD only for OS.. worth it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hikaricloud View Post
Another reason to get a larger SSD would be for programs...part of the reason of having an SSD is having an increased speed in launching and using programs, yes? Installing them to a storage partition would kinda defeat the purpose. I have a 128gb SSD that's nearly full at the moment unfortunately and I still have things I'd like to install...
Well this is the large majority of the reason I'm asking - I know the benefits of an SSD but i want to know from those who use them if they think the benefit would be worth just dedicating to the OS?

I'm not ready to move into SSD for storage; still far too uneconomical.
iParanormalx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 10:16 AM   #26 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: SDD only for OS.. worth it?

Ehh, if you do any form of gaming your going to want the games on your SSD. As far as just having the OS on the SSD, yeah, you see some faster boot times and the such, but having everything else on a standard HDD, even in Raid0 or 5 is much slower... Trust me, I ran an SSD and 2 WD Blacks in R0 for years and it got to the point I had to start putting games on the SSD because the games would freeze due to the HDD taking too long.
c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 10:37 AM   #27 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Drogos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,415
Default Re: SDD only for OS.. worth it?

yes it is worth it. i personally ran my old 120gb ssd as my os and first 2tb 7200rpm for games and my second 2tb for just backup and such.
whats great about doing that is if ur os gets compromised u dont have to worry about losing ur games or backups wen u wipe windows.
__________________
AsRock z97x,i5 4690k@ 4.4ghz, Custom Water Loop, Nvidia 980TI 6GB, Corsair Dominators Platinum 16GB 2666mhz ,250 SSD,2TB,2TB Drive ,EVGA Supernova 750G2 PSU,NZXT H440 white. Asus 24" 144hz, LG 42" led lcd.
Drogos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 11:14 AM   #28 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: SDD only for OS.. worth it?

It's absolutely worth it - just upgraded mine to 128 gb ssd this past spring. Boot times are WAY faster and applications run faster.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 02:57 PM   #29 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: SDD only for OS.. worth it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by c0rr0sive View Post
Honestly, for me, Diablo 3, Starcraft II, and PLEX eat up about 50GB together.
SC2 loads at the same speed from my 3TB as it does from my SSD. Had it on my SSD during Quakecon and moved it over with no lack in speed. Only difference being how quickly it actually fires up. In game, 0 difference.

Also recently decided to try moving Watch Dogs over. Loading times going from menu to game increased about 3 seconds. Not worth it to me to hog up 17GB on my SSD for that. I've never touched Diablo 3 so have no idea. Going by the gist of things, I'd be willing to bet not much of a practical difference. Not compared to say, Skyrim with mods, or Battlefield. Those two moving to an SSD can literally shed minutes off the loading times. So they get an SSD of their own in my setup.

As to the OP, 90% of the point of having an SSD is to have your OS on it. The overall responsiveness of your whole machine gets an improvement by simply having your OS on an SSD. It improves further when you add other smaller things that seem insignificant like the browser to an SSD. If you ever doubt the improvements, use an SSD for a month then go back to a HDD. You will soon realize how HDDs have held us back for so long.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2014, 12:32 AM   #30 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: SDD only for OS.. worth it?

Word opens 10x faster with my ssd than it did with a platter drive
__________________

Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SDD and HDD in a laptop? Bubblebeamz Laptops and Notebooks 3 11-01-2013 11:26 AM
SDD/Windows/Programs robcat93 System Upgrades 4 04-13-2013 12:25 AM
New Laptop, how do I copy everything from HDD to SDD? soarwitheagles Viruses, Spyware and Malware 11 09-16-2012 09:24 PM
Terabyte External HDD shows only 80gb free, only 250gb worth of stuff on it.. help? braz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 02-16-2011 06:34 PM
SDD Space, where did it go? MindoverMaster Microsoft Windows and Software 8 10-02-2010 10:17 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.