SDD only for OS.. worth it? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: Add a SSD to PC?
64GB - to ensure adequate space 4 66.67%
32GB - easily enough for an OS 1 16.67%
No - pocket the 50$ towards your next build 1 16.67%
Voters: 6. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-28-2014, 12:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
The strange one
 
iParanormalx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: US
Posts: 1,168
Question SDD only for OS.. worth it?

I was considering adding a small SDD drive for a dedicated OS partition on a few of my PCs. Looks like a 32gb SSD is only ~50$ - Do you folks think the 50$ would give a noticeable difference in power efficiency and boot speed? Do you think the 32gb will suffice for the OS?
__________________

iParanormalx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 12:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: SDD only for OS.. worth it?

Yes, but I'd recommend getting something much larger than 32Gig... With Windows itself as well as all the updates, it will fill that up in no time. Invest in at least a 120gig minimum IMO.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 12:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
The strange one
 
iParanormalx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: US
Posts: 1,168
Default Re: SDD only for OS.. worth it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Yes, but I'd recommend getting something much larger than 32Gig... With Windows itself as well as all the updates, it will fill that up in no time. Invest in at least a 120gig minimum IMO.
You "go big or go home" huh lol.

I disagree, though. Windows 7 requirements are only 20gb - thats what microsoft recommends as a minimum. So having 50% more than the minimum recommended should suffice.

I agree I want a bigger one for my main desktop because I have a "go big or go home" attitude with that PC.

But speaking from a genuine bare minimum requirement; do you really think every PC that I'm wanting to have an SSD needs 120gb just for the OS?
iParanormalx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 01:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Drogos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,415
Default Re: SDD only for OS.. worth it?

is not much of a matter of bigger well yeah its better but how much ill cost you. why pay $50 for a 32 wen u can get a much bigger one for a little more.
this one was up for 55 last week ill probably be again sometime soon.

http://www.amazon.com/Kingston-Digit...1&keywords=ssd
__________________
AsRock z97x,i5 4690k@ 4.4ghz, Custom Water Loop, Nvidia 980TI 6GB, Corsair Dominators Platinum 16GB 2666mhz ,250 SSD,2TB,2TB Drive ,EVGA Supernova 750G2 PSU,NZXT H440 white. Asus 24" 144hz, LG 42" led lcd.
Drogos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 01:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
The strange one
 
iParanormalx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: US
Posts: 1,168
Default Re: SDD only for OS.. worth it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drogos View Post
is not much of a matter of bigger well yeah its better but how much ill cost you. why pay $50 for a 32 wen u can get a much bigger one for a little more.
this one was up for 55 last week ill probably be again sometime soon.

http://www.amazon.com/Kingston-Digit...1&keywords=ssd
Dayum! Thats a hell of a deal! :gamechanger:

I've also should have asked; i've not worked with internal/exteral SSD's at all... It sometimes appears some of them are literrally just a chip with a SATA connection. Is there a certain adapter or mount that they need for internal use?
iParanormalx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 01:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Drogos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,415
Default Re: SDD only for OS.. worth it?

yup buying samller than 120gb ssd is not worth it either used or new. i just picked up a 220gb used off a trading site.
__________________
AsRock z97x,i5 4690k@ 4.4ghz, Custom Water Loop, Nvidia 980TI 6GB, Corsair Dominators Platinum 16GB 2666mhz ,250 SSD,2TB,2TB Drive ,EVGA Supernova 750G2 PSU,NZXT H440 white. Asus 24" 144hz, LG 42" led lcd.
Drogos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 01:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
The strange one
 
iParanormalx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: US
Posts: 1,168
Default Re: SDD only for OS.. worth it?

Wow you're right im finding alot more deals now than the other day when i looked..

This one is nice too... only 25$more for 4x more space... kinda no brainer
Amazon.com: Crucial M500 120GB SATA 2.5-Inch 7mm (with 9.5mm adapter) Internal Solid State Drive CT120M500SSD1: Computers & Accessories
iParanormalx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 01:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Knowitall!
 
strollin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: N. Calif.
Posts: 632
Default Re: SDD only for OS.. worth it?

32G is probably enough (as you point out Win 7 takes about 20G) but personally I wouldn't want less than a 64G ssd since that would room to install at least some programs or games that I wanted to be able to take advantage of the ssd's speed . As long as you only need to put the OS on there and plan to install all software and save all data to a separate drive you will be OK. Keep in mind that even when you install a program to a different drive some files are still written to the C: drive so those files will take up some space on the ssd.

The smallest ssd I have in any of my computers is 120G.
strollin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 01:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Drogos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,415
Default Re: SDD only for OS.. worth it?

yeah that it was a 240 that i got used for $80 and is a crucial m500 the biger bother to that 120 u posted. is pretty nice so far faster than the 120gb intel 320 series i had
__________________
AsRock z97x,i5 4690k@ 4.4ghz, Custom Water Loop, Nvidia 980TI 6GB, Corsair Dominators Platinum 16GB 2666mhz ,250 SSD,2TB,2TB Drive ,EVGA Supernova 750G2 PSU,NZXT H440 white. Asus 24" 144hz, LG 42" led lcd.
Drogos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 03:28 PM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default Re: SDD only for OS.. worth it?

Windows 7 HP with SP1 is actually about 30GB. When you add all the updates it goes over 30GB. The 20GB recommendation was made back before 2009 when it was being developed and they have rolled out a ton of updates since. I also do believe that 20GB was for Basic/Starter editions but I could be wrong.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SDD and HDD in a laptop? Bubblebeamz Laptops and Notebooks 3 11-01-2013 11:26 AM
SDD/Windows/Programs robcat93 System Upgrades 4 04-13-2013 12:25 AM
New Laptop, how do I copy everything from HDD to SDD? soarwitheagles Viruses, Spyware and Malware 11 09-16-2012 09:24 PM
Terabyte External HDD shows only 80gb free, only 250gb worth of stuff on it.. help? braz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 02-16-2011 06:34 PM
SDD Space, where did it go? MindoverMaster Microsoft Windows and Software 8 10-02-2010 10:17 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.