Scsi? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-21-2006, 12:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 267
Send a message via AIM to Biggie578
Default Scsi?

Windows 98 wants to know if im using a SCSI device to install windows. Im using a removeable CD-ROM "MP device" on a toughbook CF-37. Is this SCSI?
__________________

Biggie578 is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 02:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

SCSI is a hard drive format that is mostly used in servers.

here are some examples.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...ice=&maxPrice=

basicly it's a realy fast hard drive that mostly servers use.
ex: in my opinion, the best server mobo out there, which supports SCSI
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813151009

and if you look on newegg, you will notice that no PC mobo supports SCSI.

and just to add to that, heres an articl on SCSI vs. SATA
http://www.pugetsystems.com/articles.php?id=19

i think that covers it.
__________________

MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 02:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

googled the toughbook CF-37, and you definately can't be using SCSI on a notebook, i wonder why it asked you that?
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 09:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 267
Send a message via AIM to Biggie578
Default

Auctually it says "Are you using a PC card (network card, CD-ROM connected to a SCSI card, etc) to install windows?"

My cdrom is a removable "MP device" so im thinkig mabey?
Thoes HDDs are SCSI Ultra, there are slower ones
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SCSI
Sorry if my first post was a little inaccurate about the problem
Biggie578 is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 09:20 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 267
Send a message via AIM to Biggie578
Default

oops, i quoted instead of editing
Biggie578 is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 06:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

scsi notebook? i really, really, really, really doubt that.

scsi is a bus anyway so you can connect retty much any device to it, so long as they have a scsi interface of course.
Zip drive, tape drive, hard drive, cd rom drive, scanner...
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 06:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Biggie578
Auctually it says "Are you using a PC card (network card, CD-ROM connected to a SCSI card, etc) to install windows?"

Actually that sounds like a standard question, just to determine if there are any drivers that need installing.
__________________

__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.