SATA vs SATA2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-13-2006, 10:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3
Question SATA vs SATA2

Can a mobo with SATA support the new SATA2 HD?
__________________

theblademan is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 11:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 211
Send a message via Yahoo to JohnnyX
Default

Yes
__________________

__________________
The enemy of my enemy might just be my enemy¬Ö
JohnnyX is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 11:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

To elaborate on what he said:

SATAII is backwards compatible. This means that a SATAII HD will work on a mobo that doesnt support SATAII. SATA HDs will also work on SATAII interfaces.

Nowadays, SATAII is pretty comparable in price to SATA, so if it comes down to it, you might as well get SATAII. If you can't manage to get a SATAII HD, or it is more expensive, don't even bother with it, as the performance difference is nearly non-existant.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 01:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29
Default

Sorry to hijack this thread, but what exactly are the differences between SATA and SATAII?
01100100 is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 01:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 01100100
Sorry to hijack this thread, but what exactly are the differences between SATA and SATAII?
S-ATA 1 Has Maximum Transfer Speed of 150 MB/s
S-ATA 2 Has a Maximum Transfer Speed of 3.0Gb/s
Ste is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 03:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for the knowledge techies! SATA2 it will be
theblademan is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 12:22 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

I just bought 2 SATA150 drives because my old ones are crapping out on me. I got both Western Digitals, one is an 80GB'er and the other is a 250GB'er with 16MB of cache. cost around $160 with shipping.
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 12:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29
Default

wow, Ive never heard of a HD with a 16MB cache!

I never knew that SATAI existed, I thought that it was only SATAII. Guess you learn something new every day
01100100 is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 09:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 267
Send a message via AIM to Biggie578
Default

SATA II has transfer speed of 300mb so whats the 3gb/s?
Biggie578 is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 11:02 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Biggie578
SATA II has transfer speed of 300mb so whats the 3gb/s?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SATA

Your right, Sorry, Im never trusting Newegg listings Ever again.

They call them " SATA 3.0 Gb/s " Which is SATA II...
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.