SATA upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-14-2005, 10:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 13
Default SATA upgrade

Hi all,
I just upgraded my system (Amd Athlon xp 2700 / Abit kw7) and I installed a new SATA (Maxtor 6l120mo) - I downloaded the official software (from maxtor.com) to make a bootable copy of my old HD (20G Maxtor, 5 years old!!!!!) to the new SATA - software worked fine - copied everything and assigned the new HD as the system one -
problem - my pc stopped starting!!!! couldn't boot from the SATA drive!
any idea how to resolve this? Mobo reads the SATA fine, and all partitions - just cannot but from it -
any ideas??
thanks,
Dimitris
__________________

darlac is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 03:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 85
Send a message via AIM to MikeyE
Default

What specifically is the error message you're getting when trying to boot?
__________________

MikeyE is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 05:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 13
Default

I do not get any error message - after I perform the 1st step of installation repair, when it reboots doesn't find the SATA drive!!!
darlac is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.