SATA and Ultra ATA/100 hard drives - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-22-2005, 05:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3
Default SATA and Ultra ATA/100 hard drives

I recentyly put together my first computer and had a question about setting up my hard drives.
here is a quick description of the parts involved:

Asus P5gdc-v deluxe motherboard.
2 NEC burners
1 160 gig SATA hard drive
1 80 gig ultra ATA/100

When i first put the system together i did not have the ATA drive hooked up but i now want to install it for added storage space.

Right now i have the two burners hooked up together onto the main IDE port and the SATA drive is hooked up to the master SATA port. The only other IDE type connection on the mother board is the RAID 1 port. The manual says that the default setting for the RAID 1 port is for use with normal IDE devices untill you tell it to be used in a RAID setting. I went ahead and hooked up the ATA drive to the RAID 1 port but its not being recognized by the motherboard. I checked in the Bios if it did but i get nothing. any recomendations? thanks.

sfdjdlux is offline  
Old 08-23-2005, 05:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3


any info would help

sfdjdlux is offline  
Old 08-23-2005, 09:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,954

Did you set the jumpers on the ATA drive to 'slave'? If you didn't, your comp may be confused.

Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 08-23-2005, 11:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3

yes, the ATA drive is set to slave but i still get nothing. the drive is spinning and gets warm but the computer is not recognizing it at all.
sfdjdlux is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.