Sata Problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-15-2005, 02:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 640
Send a message via AIM to schulz269
Default Sata Problems

Having some problems with my sata like i can't install windows on it. i have my computer running on a IDE HD which i installed windows on it but i can't get it to install on my Sata hd its like my mobo don't read that it is there but when i am running windows on the ide it reads the sata hd and i can format it and use it for storage like i am doing now but i jsut can't get windows installed on the sata. i am open to any suggestions at all. Thanks in advance
__________________

__________________
IMG]http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/9546/venomcopycghkcgto8.png[/IMG]
Heatware:
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=47066
schulz269 is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 03:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
JDGreen92086's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sellersburg, Indiana
Posts: 343
Send a message via AIM to JDGreen92086
Default

Kyle you dumbass!! jp lol

btw, test for your sig.
__________________

__________________
Newbie since 2005.
JDGreen92086 is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 02:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
JDGreen92086's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sellersburg, Indiana
Posts: 343
Send a message via AIM to JDGreen92086
Default

Guess people don't like you, lol.
__________________
Newbie since 2005.
JDGreen92086 is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 03:05 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 592
Default

Assuming the motherboard is detecting the hard drive. (The hard drives name should show up in the boot post, along with your IDE Drive) Then all you have to do is boot into Windows, right click MY COMPUTER, then hit MANAGE, this dbl click STORAGE, then dbl click DISK MANAGEMENT. From there you need to Format the drive. I think all you have to do is dbl click the drive, and it should ask you if you would like to format and instal the drive. There your done

If your planning on Installing Windows on the Drive, and using it as the primary drive, and just using your IDE as storage, your going to have to install the raid drivers, which should be on a disk that was supplied with your motherboard. You may have to unplug your IDE Drive while your doing this cause it may skip the promt to install the drivers. (It has done this to me)
__________________
ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Intel Core i7 2600k
16GB DDR3 G-Skill Ripjaws
1TB 7200 Segagte Drive
eVGA GeForce 570
Samsung Blu-Ray Drive
Antec 850 Watt PSU
Windows 7 Professional
Blackmoore is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 06:14 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 640
Send a message via AIM to schulz269
Default

i well try that out in the morning after church and post back here if it worked or not this for your advice i have already formated it that way and that is how it is set up right know but i think i installed the raid drivers but i am unsure but i well do it in the morning to see tho. Thanks
__________________
IMG]http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/9546/venomcopycghkcgto8.png[/IMG]
Heatware:
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=47066
schulz269 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.