Sata Ports - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-27-2009, 07:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Tim
Sir Timothy
 
Tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Chichester, England
Posts: 534
Default Sata Ports

Well I've been a bit of a fool
I just bought a new graphics card, it arrived today and I was distraught to find out that o blocks both of my computers SATA ports, this is a bit of a problem as my decent hard drive is sata... I don't want to get rid of the graphics card, anyone know what I can do?

Cheers

Ps. Sorry if this is in the wrong section...
__________________

__________________
Tim is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 07:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Sata Ports

you could buy a pci sata controller card.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 08:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Sata Ports

You could buy 90 degree SATA cables, you still wont be able to access the ports easily but at least you can plug your drives in.
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 09:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Sata Ports

^^ definitely option number1.

Just make sure they do not interfere with the seating of the gpu.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 10:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Tim
Sir Timothy
 
Tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Chichester, England
Posts: 534
Default Re: Sata Ports

Yeah, i think i'll do that, cheers guys
__________________
Tim is offline  
Old 05-29-2009, 08:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
Tim
Sir Timothy
 
Tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Chichester, England
Posts: 534
Default Re: Sata Ports

Ok, bought some 90 degree sata cables, and they don't fit

What were those you were talking about Hefe?
__________________
Tim is offline  
Old 05-29-2009, 08:23 AM   #7 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Sata Ports

Why doesn't it fit?
Confirm you have a free PCI slot
Something like this Extra Value Serial ATA 2 Port PCI Card - Ebuyer
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 05-29-2009, 09:02 AM   #8 (permalink)
Tim
Sir Timothy
 
Tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Chichester, England
Posts: 534
Default Re: Sata Ports

Quote:
Originally Posted by kmote View Post
Why doesn't it fit?
Cable still gets in the way of the card...
I was looking at this Novatech M275 : Novatech PCI Express Card - SATA II 2 port with RAID however, it doesn't actiually say how many sata ports it has...
Opinions?
__________________
Tim is offline  
Old 05-29-2009, 09:15 AM   #9 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Sata Ports

It says it has two ports. You should note that this is a PCI-e 1x card so you will need a free PCI-e port (although any PCI-e port will work so I'm sure you do)
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 05-29-2009, 09:30 AM   #10 (permalink)
Tim
Sir Timothy
 
Tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Chichester, England
Posts: 534
Default Re: Sata Ports

This one right?
__________________

__________________
Tim is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SATA And IDE Configuration Help LOL_NESS Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 9 03-06-2009 02:08 AM
Question about Sata ports Darshek Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 02-23-2009 10:07 PM
SATA issues... CalcProgrammer1 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 12-30-2008 04:05 PM
SATA 2 Question juh-may-uh-kun mon System Upgrades 0 10-07-2007 11:31 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.