SATA to IDE Adapter - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-19-2008, 02:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4
Default SATA to IDE Adapter

What do you guys think about this? Is there anything bad about them that I should know about? Because I bought a hard drive for my old computer that used SATA and now I want to use it on my new Dell that uses IDE, so I was thinking instead of buying a whole other HD to just use this adapter.
__________________

Bluemangroup is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 11:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: SATA to IDE Adapter

If you don't mind the slower speeds, then it is okay to use. SATA is faster than IDE, so if you are just using it on an IDE channel you won't be getting the speed benefit that SATA drives were designed for (in which case you might as well of boughten an IDE).
__________________

__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 11:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: SATA to IDE Adapter

you wont even notice the difference in speed. it'll work fine.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 08:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: SATA to IDE Adapter

whoops I meant a IDE to SATA so in my first post where I say SATA I mean IDE, and vice-versa
Bluemangroup is offline  
Old 08-20-2008, 04:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: SATA to IDE Adapter

ok, so I tried installing the HD and my computer didn't pick it up. I'm guessing it's because it is set as the master drive, but not running Windows off of it. I'm not familiar with SATA HD's so is setting jumpers on SATA HD's necessary? And the adapter I bought has a 4 pin power connect which I hooked up to the PSU

Edit: I'm thinking the power is my problem, but I don't know what to do I thoguht the 4 pin on the adapter would power the HD since the cable is connected to my PSU. But there's a molex connector that's just there. Here's a picture

Bluemangroup is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Migrating from IDE HDD to Sata HDD bendrichard System Upgrades 3 05-12-2008 05:48 PM
IDE hard drive to SATA connector? dashogun New Systems | Building and Buying 1 12-29-2007 09:08 AM
Need adapter to connect IDE drive to SATA port on mobo. Mr. LL Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-24-2007 07:43 PM
Need adapter to connect IDE drive to SATA port on mobo. Mr. LL New Systems | Building and Buying 4 12-24-2007 12:36 PM
IDE RAID and SATA RAID togather abadjay Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-02-2007 02:37 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.