Sata > Ide - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-12-2006, 08:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default Sata > Ide

I want to get an sata hard drive but my pc only supports ide

(the reason I want sata is to be able to use the same hd in a new computer later)


so... for now... is there an adapter to make sata > ide?

seems unlikely, but I'm asking anyway...
__________________

Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 09:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 33
Default

I was pretty sure they existed, but I havn't needed to use one yet. A quick search on Newegg did the trick.

SABRENT SBT-SCIDE Serial ATA to IDE Ultra ATA-100/133 Mini Converter
__________________

daRcer is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 09:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
 
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by daRcer
I was pretty sure they existed, but I havn't needed to use one yet. A quick search on Newegg did the trick.

SABRENT SBT-SCIDE Serial ATA to IDE Ultra ATA-100/133 Mini Converter
wow, that's amazing, I wouldn't have even thought those things existed...
__________________
|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 10:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Uhhh, yeah...that's still gonna bottleneck the drive if it takes advantage of SATA's higher data transfer speeds.

Dropping in an SATA controller in one of your PCI slots should do the trick.
(This may bottleneck it some too, but not as bad as that converter IIRC.)
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 11:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

SATA card is the way to go, that way if and when you upgrade to a board with on board SATA you have plenty of ports. i didn't think i would ever use more than 4 SATA ports (currently 2 used) but it looks like i may so you'll have room for upgradeability
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 09:02 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16812156010
that would work, are there any cheaper ones?

ok... now I need a new Hard Drive
hows this?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...2E16822144184R

I'm not sure if I can afford it, but I might be able to soon...
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 05:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default

looks like an ok drive, but i would try to get a new one instead of refurbished, and if possible, get a 16mb cache.
__________________

__________________
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

JOIN THE 24 ZONE FORUMS
infiltrator7 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.