SATA to IDE - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-29-2007, 05:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
Question SATA to IDE

I accidentally bought a SATA drive for my pc... now I don't know what to do. I heard you could use some cables/converters to plug it up to an IDE mobo, but I don't know exactly what I need. All I can figure is the power cord.
__________________

Chaotique is offline  
Old 11-29-2007, 06:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: SATA to IDE

Is it possible to return the hard drive?

This might be of interest:
Newegg.com - SYBA SD-SATA-4P PCI SATA Controller Card - Retail
Newegg.com - Rosewill RC-203 SATA to IDE Mini Vertical Bridge (for SATA device) Model - Retail
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 11-29-2007, 08:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: SATA to IDE

The image below will show what a typical sata type data cable looks like. The first thing to do there is look over the manual on the board to see if there are sata ports available on it since those small when seen on any board.



The sata to ide power conversion adapters are readily available for a low cost that simply plug into the standard molex connector if the power supply there lacks the power connectors for sata type drives.
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 11-30-2007, 01:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default Re: SATA to IDE

Get a SATA card like peter said. This way you will have a SATA slot to fit your hard drive cable and you can use it.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 11-30-2007, 05:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: SATA to IDE

I'll be looking at one case later with a Sata 1 drive there. You have two options for power on those with the standard molex or sata power connection. The sata to ide converter cables will work just as well as adding in a separate controller card.

The hardware limitation still see a lack of any real gain from the sata bus while a controller will allow multiple drives if you want to expand later. Your other option is simply to return that for an ide model.
eyeCpc is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
slow SATA HD zenyora Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 10-29-2007 05:58 AM
sata taintedplay New Systems | Building and Buying 3 10-21-2007 07:19 PM
SATA 2 Question juh-may-uh-kun mon System Upgrades 0 10-07-2007 11:31 PM
IDE RAID and SATA RAID togather abadjay Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-02-2007 02:37 PM
Windows 'accessing' SATA drives before boot koosie Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 09-06-2007 03:07 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.