SATA hard drive question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-16-2008, 04:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 67
Default SATA hard drive question

I purchased a SATA Seagate Barracuda harddrive and was surprised that their
is a connection indicated jumper block.
I was under the impression a SATA hard drive has no jumpers to be set.
Why then this connection and how do I have to set it ? Or do I just
ignore it and connect nothing ?
Can anybody explain ?

Thanks

RobertXYZ
__________________

RobertXYZ is offline  
Old 01-16-2008, 04:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: SATA hard drive question

i believe you ignore it, just there for legacy systems...perhaps
__________________

atomic tofu is offline  
Old 01-16-2008, 05:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 67
Default Re: SATA hard drive question

Quote:
Originally Posted by atomic tofu View Post
i believe you ignore it, just there for legacy systems...perhaps

Thanks
RobertXYZ is offline  
Old 01-16-2008, 06:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: SATA hard drive question

Quote:
Originally Posted by atomic tofu View Post
i believe you ignore it, just there for legacy systems...perhaps
Yep...
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 01-17-2008, 12:57 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: SATA hard drive question

No, that jumper is for backwards compatibility with sata 1.5, so it will work with sata 1.5 mobos.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 01-17-2008, 08:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
PRVRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Blackfoot, Idaho
Posts: 379
Default Re: SATA hard drive question

If you leave the jumper on, it runs at 1.5. If you remove it, then it runs at 3.0 if your MB supports Sata 3.0.

Serial ATA interface disk drives are designed for easy installation. It is not necessary to set any jumpers, terminators, or other settings on this drive for proper operation. The jumper block adjacent to the SATA interface connector on SATA 150MB/s drives is for factory use only. The jumper block adjacent to the SATA interface connector on SATA 300MB/s drives can be used to force the drive into SATA 150MB/s mode for use with older SATA controllers that only work with SATA 150MB/s drives.
__________________

__________________
PRVRT is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATA/SATA Hard drive question qk232 System Upgrades 4 01-06-2008 05:17 PM
Computer won't recognize the hard drive Pen16 System Upgrades 10 10-18-2007 05:56 PM
Hard Drive may be DAMAGE, trying to get data off an old hard drive. help! yaminohaka Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 17 07-24-2007 09:56 PM
Replacing hard drive question, please answer Dio1080 Sony Playstation 2 04-25-2007 12:49 PM
Question on hard drive quality? ingeborgdot New Systems | Building and Buying 4 03-28-2007 12:48 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.