SATA Drives/Motherboard - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-17-2009, 08:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 602
Default SATA Drives/Motherboard

Hello,

I have this type of motherboard: Newegg.com - ASUS P4P800SE 478 Intel 865PE ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards

Says there are 2 SATA ports, (1.5 GB/s), but the internal harddrive I want to buy has 3.0 GB/s capability...assume the most I will get will be 1.5 GB/s from this new harddrive since that is what is limited to the motherboard?

Since there are only 2 SATA ports on my motherboard, does this mean that I cannot connect any more SATA drives after I have used up these 2 ports?

Thank you.
__________________

__________________
-AMD Phenon X2 555
-Gigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
-Western Digital Caviar RE WD2500YD 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache Serial ATA150
-Patriot Sector 5 DDR3-1333 (4GB)
-Rosewill 500W PSU
leonardmp92 is offline  
Old 05-17-2009, 12:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: SATA Drives/Motherboard

The 3.0Gb/s standard is backwards compatible. It won't run any faster than the ports will let it though, just like USB 2.0 in a 1.1 port. I will say though, I noticed a decent difference going from my old SATA150 200gb Seagate to my new 1.5tb SATA 3.0Gb/s Seagate in my old machine...maybe it had something to do with the cache, who knows.

And yes, you can only use two SATA devices.
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 05-17-2009, 12:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
El MŠgico
 
snowsurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Spain
Posts: 390
Default Re: SATA Drives/Motherboard

You won't really find any HDs that will saturate the SATA150 interface, except the top of the line SSDs from OCZ and Intel. I've done extensive testing with all of my HDs along with some of the ones we have in the office. Hikaricloud, I think in your case it is clearly due to the density of the platters and the size of the cache.

Leonard, don't worry about this unless you are splashing huge money on a top-notch SSD, really. Not even a 10k rpm raptor/velociraptor will saturate SATA150.
__________________
| i5-4690K@4.4 | MSI Z97 Gaming 5 | 2x8Gb G.Skill Ripjaws@2133/CL9 | Noctua NH-D15 | Fractal Design Define R5 | Samsung Evo 840 500Gb | Dell 3415W | 2xMSI 980Ti Gaming 6 SLI | Corsair RM 850i | Corsair K70 | Proteus Core | Windows 10 x64 Pro | FiiO E17 Alpen as DAC/amp | AKG K551 | Blue Snowball iCE |
snowsurfer is offline  
Old 05-19-2009, 07:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: SATA Drives/Motherboard

you could buy an extra port so you can use another SATA
ribonzz is offline  
Old 05-19-2009, 08:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: SATA Drives/Motherboard

^^ I think what he means is you can buy a SATA controller card, which you can.

Snowsurfer: I'm pretty sure you're right. I also did notice a slight boost in HDD speed when I installed my new motherboard in comparison to my old one, but nothing crazy noticeable.

I'm really hoping the new SATA standard will actually take advantage of the theoretical speed.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 05-19-2009, 12:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default Re: SATA Drives/Motherboard

i really need to upgrade my hdd.....mine is just not cutting the mustard anymore :-D
__________________

__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unable to install XP 64bits on new HP desktop - problem with SATA manolain New Systems | Building and Buying 2 09-01-2009 07:43 AM
SATA And IDE Configuration Help LOL_NESS Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 9 03-06-2009 02:08 AM
SATA issues... CalcProgrammer1 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 12-30-2008 04:05 PM
are all the SATA cables compatible with first generation SATA motherboards rookie1010 System Upgrades 6 04-06-2008 11:15 PM
SATA 2 Question juh-may-uh-kun mon System Upgrades 0 10-07-2007 11:31 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.