SATA drives - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-05-2006, 09:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 36
Default SATA drives

I just boght a 160 GB SATA drive. I thought to connect it to the pc all what I had to do is use the extra jumper and power cable. Problem is the SATA drive's interface looks really really different.

What cable do I need in order to connect the drive. Is there a special way of installing SATA drives? does it differ from the old IDE ATA ones?

Sulla is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 10:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi

plug it into the Sata ports, if you have them. If not, you may have gotten the wrong interface. You need one of those skinny red SATA cables. If you don't have one, you'll be needing one.



<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb

Great FORD TRUCK resource:
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 10:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,954

Does your motherboard support SATA?

Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 04:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 36

Originally posted by Trotter
Does your motherboard support SATA?
I don't thkni so...i bought the pc in 2001, it has a pentium II processor.

Does that mean I have to change the whole motherboard?
Sulla is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 04:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
NosBoost300's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300

wait they're red cables??? my motherboard came with black cables??? would those be the same thing?

those 4 black cables there
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 04:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
TheMajor's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177

Return the drive and get an IDE disk. Or get one of those IDE>SATA adapters.
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 04:29 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405
using that as a guide return the SATA drive & get IDE or ATA 100.
I still dont get why people are buying SATA hdds when the bandwidth of ATA 100 isnt used yet
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 07:52 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 36

goods once sold can't be returned or exchanged.
I better figue out a way of using what I got
Sulla is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 07:57 AM   #9 (permalink)
Do not Stare at my Avatar
Ste's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,571
Send a message via MSN to Ste

You need to buy an SATA to IDE converter like someone else already suggested.

You could also buy a PCI Expansion card that has SATA ports on it.
Ste is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 08:02 AM   #10 (permalink)
Field Engineer
SHAWN's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN

A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:57 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.