Salvage - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-03-2005, 11:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 318
Default Salvage

Hey i have a real cheap $200 that i dont use and i was wondering what i should salvage(if there is anything to salvage) as im interested in building a computer for regular gaming and we be keen to keep the cost down by salvaging stuff from the $200 computer. Here is the specs of it.

[ WCPUID Version 3.3 (c) 1996-2004 By H.Oda! ]

Processor #1 : Intel Pentium III / AFC0B931
Platform : Socket370 (PGA370 Socket)
Vendor String : GenuineIntel
CPU Type : Original OEM Processor (0)
Family : 6 (-)
Model : 8 (-)
Stepping ID : 10 (-)
Brand ID : 2 (-)
APIC : ----
HT Log.CPU Cnt : ----
Name String : ----

Internal Clock : 996.76 MHz
System Bus : 132.90 MHz
System Clock : 132.90 MHz
Multiplier : 7.5

L1 I-Cache : 16K Byte
L1 D-Cache : 16K Byte
L1 T-Cache : ----
L1 Cache : ----
L2 Cache : 256K Byte
L2 Speed : 996.76 MHz (Full)

MMX Unit : Supported
SSE Unit : Supported
SSE2 Unit : Not Supported
SSE3 Unit : Not Supported
MMX2 Unit : Not Supported
3DNow! Unit : Not Supported
3DNow!+ Unit : Not Supported

Host Bridge : 8086:1130.02 [Intel 815/815EP/815P/815EG/815G]
IDE Controller : 8086:244B.02 [Intel 82801BA (ICH2)]
VGA Device : 10DE:0110.B2 [NVIDIA GeForce2 MX/MX 400]
Memory Size : 256M Byte
Memory Clock : ----

OS Version : Windows XP Version 5.1.2600 Service Pack 2
-------------- : -----------------------------------
StdFunc 0 : 00000002 756E6547 6C65746E 49656E69
StdFunc 1 : 0000068A 00000002 00000000 0383FBFF
StdFunc 2 : 03020101 00000000 00000000 0C040882
00000017h : 69530000 00000000 00000000 00000000
0000001Bh : 00000000 FEE00900 00000000 00000000
0000002Ah : 00000000 C7440000 00000000 00000000
00000119h : 00000000 9EBDB4B6 00000000 00000000
0000011Eh : 00000000 007427E1 00000000 00000000

##--- Date 12/04/2005, Time 15:58:50 / 2.0.0.0

Cheers
Rory
__________________

Crusader is offline  
Old 12-03-2005, 11:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 31
Default

Honestly, all I really got from all that was the processor. I'd say if you're a light weight gamer, someone who plays games like Counter-Strike 1.6, World of Warcraft, BF1942, Warcraft III, ect then you could probably make a decent computer for $200 but you'd still have to pitch in a graphics card.

If you'd like the link for my other post of the parts I was going to use I'll be glad to dig it up, it came out to about ~250 USD (without a graphics card)
__________________

ShadowStalk3r is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 12:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 318
Default

Ok thanks and yea i am pretty much a light weight gamer. That would be awesome if you could give me your link. Also with these parts the computer could also be used for just general stuff aswell as gaming right?

Thanks
Rory
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.dynasig.net/?id=2883\"><img src=\"http://serve.dynasig.net/2883.gif\" width=\"350\" height=\"85\" alt=\"Signature\" border=\"0\" /></a><br />
DynaSig: <a href=\"http://www.dynasig.net\">Dynamic Forum Signature</a>
Crusader is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 12:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 31
Default

The computer can be used for what ever you like, but it won't run games well like Half-Life 2, or Battlefield 2, a game that requires a very good computer to preform.

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=80901


Scroll down where I had final build. Pretty much my computer if you slap a Radeon 9550 in it and you'll be playing Half-life 2 with medium-low settings with 40-60 fps! (200-300 with half-life 1 mods and 70+ on WoW)
ShadowStalk3r is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 12:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 318
Default

Thanks a lot for that sorry to bother you more but what more would i require to run Half-life 2 smoothly.
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.dynasig.net/?id=2883\"><img src=\"http://serve.dynasig.net/2883.gif\" width=\"350\" height=\"85\" alt=\"Signature\" border=\"0\" /></a><br />
DynaSig: <a href=\"http://www.dynasig.net\">Dynamic Forum Signature</a>
Crusader is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 12:18 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 31
Default

Pretty much the system I posted + a graphics card as good or better then the ATi radeon 9550, I have the powercolor version with 256 mbs that I'm gonna sell for about ~$40 USD because it makes a buzzing noise when I play games. Then again the mobo I'm building the computer above with doesn't have AGP 8x, but 4x which isn't as fast. You'd really be better of to buy an even better motherboard and processor if you're a counter-strike: source/half-life2 fan. I can play the games but the system above won't run them as good as my system can.

Same processory, but a better mobo and 256mb more of ram.
ShadowStalk3r is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 12:24 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 318
Default

Alright cheers, do you know if the Newegg site ships globaly because im in New Zealand and getting it off the Newegg and getting shipped might cost cheaper than getting it New Zealand.
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.dynasig.net/?id=2883\"><img src=\"http://serve.dynasig.net/2883.gif\" width=\"350\" height=\"85\" alt=\"Signature\" border=\"0\" /></a><br />
DynaSig: <a href=\"http://www.dynasig.net\">Dynamic Forum Signature</a>
Crusader is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 12:28 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 31
Default

I think Newegg only ships to the U.S. so that could be a problem. Newegg prices are way better then any store price so you might have to find another website that ships to New Zealand.

Oh and New Zealand looks beautiful.
ShadowStalk3r is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 12:30 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 318
Default

Haha thanks for all your help.
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.dynasig.net/?id=2883\"><img src=\"http://serve.dynasig.net/2883.gif\" width=\"350\" height=\"85\" alt=\"Signature\" border=\"0\" /></a><br />
DynaSig: <a href=\"http://www.dynasig.net\">Dynamic Forum Signature</a>
Crusader is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 01:50 AM   #10 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Check out compuvest.com. They ship globally.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.