s-video out - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-14-2006, 03:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default GPU questions, and confusion

If i get a GPU with S-video out cappabilities, does that mean i could connect it to my tv with s-video input? If so that makes it an even better buy for me because my computer an tv sit right next to each other. And i want to know if my motherboard is crossfire ready, because later on i may add a graphics card if it is. I want the options to be there for upgradeability in the future. Also Newegg and ATI have different pictures of my GPU. If I am getting what new egg has picured it's a power color x1600 xt BRAVO but acording to the box and the name of the produdct on new egg im getting an x1600 xt, not the bravo edetion. This has really comfused me because new egg and ATI have 2 different pictures for the x 1600 xt. Here are the links to the things im looking for help with.

My MoBo:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130048

GPU at newegg:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814131429

x1600 series at ATI:http://www.powercolor.com/main_produ...pcie&chp=x1600

My GPU at newegg is listed as an x1600xt, and pictured as the x1600xt BRAVO, which has Vivo and HD cables, both of which newegg says dosn't come with my card. Im really comfused as to which card im really buying.

oh and can a mod please change my title to the subject of the post?
__________________

__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 04:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default

help anyone?
__________________

__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 05:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default Re: GPU questions, and confusion

Quote:
Originally posted by spartan1121
If i get a GPU with S-video out cappabilities, does that mean i could connect it to my tv with s-video input?
Yes. That motherboard is SLi compliant, but not Crossfire. If you want crossfire, you'll need to pick a different motherboard, but if you like that motherboard, I think you'd be better off getting a different video card/s.
The General is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 06:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default

hmm, okay. I don't know which ill swap out, i like both. Crossfire has more options than sli though. Any help with the card confusion? i think new egg might just have the wrong picture of the card.
__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 06:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default

ok i found a different motherboard that's crossfire ready. I like it more because no one has commented on any heating problems. I think this board just gives me a lot more upgradeability options, with the ability to use crossfire, and with no sign of overheating problems i may OC with it. heres the link to it

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813135024
__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.