S-Video Graphics Card - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-18-2006, 07:49 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

what about using composite video from the card to the TV? would that give you the same problems?
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 08:27 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

Quote:
wayne, I've done this before. I have an s-video output and it just plum sucks. It should be a clear picture too because I have a high quality tv. I was hugely disappointed. I wouldn't go making plans around anything like that.
I just gave it a whirl on my current computer, 6600gt hooked up via S-Video to the TV and i was impressed. All we have is a 59cm CRT TV, nothing compared to some of those 1080p Plasma and LCD TV's. On our TV it looked nice, even Divx TV episodes looked good.
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 11:07 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Well, the crow doesn't taste very good...

Maybe I have an issue, cause it looked like poo on mine. Sorry for the bad advice.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 11:12 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

http://www.msy.com.au/Parts/msy.htm
that place has pretty cheap prices for video cards. AU$53 for an FX-5200 (Asus or Leadtek) or AU$209 for a 6600 GT (leadtek)

or there's also http://www.cpl.net.au/
they have a pretty wide range of video cards, prices are descent too
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 11:45 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

i believe i have one all sorted out, now i need to worry about TV tuner
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.