Routing my soon to be new build... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-16-2007, 08:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 26
Default Routing my soon to be new build...

Ok, I want to use this router
Newegg.com - LINKSYS WRT54GL IEEE 802.3/3u, IEEE 802.11b/g Wireless-G Broadband Router - Retail
with my new up and coming build:

Motherboard:
Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
CD Drive:
Newegg.com - SAMSUNG Black 20X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 12X DVD+R DL 20X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 12X DVD-RAM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM 2MB Cache SATA 20X DVD±R DVD Burner - OEM
Case:
Newegg.com - COOLER MASTER Centurion 5 CAC-T05-WW Black/Silver Aluminum Bezel, SECC Chassis ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail
HDD:
Newegg.com - Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3250410AS 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM
Monitor:
Newegg.com - CHIMEI CMV 221D-NBC Black 22" 5ms DVI Widescreen LCD Monitor 330 cd/m2 800:1 - Retail
GFX Card:
Newegg.com - MSI RX3850-T2D256E OC Radeon HD 3850 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Retail
Speakers:
Newegg.com - JBL DUETAL 12 Watts 2.0 Speaker - Retail
Keyboard + Mouse:
Newegg.com - Microsoft Comfort Curve 2000 B2L-00047 Black 105 Normal Keys 9 Function Keys USB Ergonomics Keyboard Mouse Included - OEM
RAM:
Newegg.com - Crucial Ballistix 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
Processor:
Newegg.com - Intel Pentium E2180 Allendale 2.0GHz 1MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor - Retail
PSU:
Newegg.com - SILVERSTONE ST50F ATX12V 500W Power Supply 100 - 240 V cUL, CE, TUV, CCC, FCC - Retail

with my old computer (which I am currently using), and my mother's laptop. Would all of this be possible? And if so can someone explain the steps to me please?

My computer will be in my bedroom, the old in the living room, and my moms laptop of course all around the house.

Edit: will usinga router lower my computer speed, or internet speed? Just wondering.
__________________

bpks00 is offline  
Old 12-16-2007, 08:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Routing my soon to be new build...

Using a router will neither lower computer or internet speed.
You need to put the router in a place around the middle of the house.
Then you need to run ethernet cable from the router to your two computers and set up wireless for the laptop. That router come with SES, which is a step-by-step program that sets up your internet, both cable and wireless.

What type of internet do you use? When you get the router, you should just plug it in, connect the cables, and it should be plug-and-play.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 12-16-2007, 08:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 26
Default Re: Routing my soon to be new build...

we will most likely be using comcast(cable)
bpks00 is offline  
Old 12-16-2007, 08:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Routing my soon to be new build...

Great, you just need to run the ethernet from the cable modem to the router. The instructions that come with the router should explain all that.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 12-16-2007, 08:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 26
Default Re: Routing my soon to be new build...

Ok, thanks.
bpks00 is offline  
Old 12-16-2007, 10:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: Routing my soon to be new build...

heads up might wanna get a Faster router, 108 not 54 or mabye a wireless N router, their faster and pretty much same price. although internet doesn't get that fast, just good to futureproof and the most out of what u can
darksideleader is offline  
Old 12-16-2007, 10:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 26
Default Re: Routing my soon to be new build...

Care to point out a better one? This is my first time building a pc and everything.
bpks00 is offline  
Old 12-16-2007, 10:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Routing my soon to be new build...

Newegg.com - D-Link DGL-4300 IEEE 802.3/3u, IEEE 802.11b/g Wireless Gaming Router - Retail
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 12-16-2007, 10:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 26
Default Re: Routing my soon to be new build...

That router has a lot of after a year it randomly died reviews.
bpks00 is offline  
Old 12-16-2007, 10:52 PM   #10 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Routing my soon to be new build...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bpks00 View Post
That router has a lot of after a year it randomly died reviews.
Then stick with the WRT54GL.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1st build, high end pc, non-gamer ksmart New Systems | Building and Buying 14 11-04-2007 05:51 PM
Domain Controller and SQL server Build abadjay New Systems | Building and Buying 2 10-05-2007 08:39 AM
A newb story: Buying is done...time to build jfenwick New Systems | Building and Buying 83 08-17-2007 12:42 PM
Computer Building Tutorials (videos)... first build OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 5 07-15-2007 12:18 PM
New build won't POST... couple quesitons dkh Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 06-29-2007 04:28 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.