Is this the right driver for my cpu? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-03-2007, 04:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 141
Default Is this the right driver for my cpu?

Hi,

This is what my computer has:

- Biostar TFORCE 6100-939 mobo which supports dual channel DDR
- Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA 3.0Gb/s 320Gb hard drive (RAID array not set up)
- AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Toledo 2.2GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket 939 Processor
- ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 64 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
- Corsair 620W PSU
- Ballistix 2x1G RAM, 184-pin DIMM, 128MX64 DDR PC3200, Unbuffered
- NORCO-4618 PCI-X / PCI eSATA / SATA II / SATA I Controller Card RAID 0/1/5/10/JBOD
- Windows XP X64, SP2
- NetFramework 2.0 Redistributable Pack for X64

The cpu and hsf are new.

I have a few minor problems with my pc so I want to format it. I have the drivers for everything except the cpu. I found this page that looks like it has the driver that I need, but I've missed the mark several times for other things, so I want to make sure that this is the one:

AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Driver Version 1.3.2.0053 for Windows XP and Windows Server 2003 (x86 and x64)

AMD Athlonâ„¢ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities and Updates

Before I do anything that I wish I hadn't, can someone tell me if this is the right driver for my cpu? It doesn't say "Toledo" or "Socket 939".

Thanks
__________________

__________________
Denise
Denise_M is offline  
Old 12-03-2007, 04:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Is this the right driver for my cpu?

CPU's don't need drivers on Windows.. what that is is the Dual-Core Optimizer..
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-03-2007, 08:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 141
Default Re: Is this the right driver for my cpu?

Hi vernong . . . thanks for responding.

I wouldn't mind a little optimization.

If I installed this file, would I have to change the settings/get updated drivers for other things, i.e, chipset, on-board VGA, etc? I updated them a few months ago and still have the updates in a folder, and I'll be installing them after I format.



I don't know why the link doesn't work. I copied and pasted it from the address bar.

AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities and Updates
__________________
Denise
Denise_M is offline  
Old 12-03-2007, 08:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Is this the right driver for my cpu?

CPUs dont have drivers. Software optimizations are usually sketchy.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 12-03-2007, 08:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 141
Default Re: Is this the right driver for my cpu?

Ok, thanks . . . I appreciate your help. The last thing I need is a problem.
__________________
Denise
Denise_M is offline  
Old 12-03-2007, 08:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Capricorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 372
Default Re: Is this the right driver for my cpu?

That file probably won't hurt and if you use the computer for gaming, it should help in some games. As stated before, CPUs as such don't need drivers and that file most likely wedges itself into the OS at a low level to try to intercept and reroute certain calls games might make. Doesn't sound like it does much for other types of software like web browsers and word processors. They're not likely to try to bypass anything in the OS.

However, do make sure you have the latest drivers for the motherboard. Especially have the driver for on-board LAN. Other drivers such as those for on-board video and on-board sound (if you have those) can always be downloaded once the initial install is finished. If the LAN isn't working .. it's a bit tougher to download that driver. You'd have to download it to some other PC and copy it over.
__________________
Case: Enermax CS-A106USB
P/S: OCZ OCZ700GXSSLI 700W
Motherboard: ASUS P5N32-E SLI
CPU: Intel E6300(idle 35C/load 39C)
RAM: OCZ Platinum Rev 2 DDR2 800 MHz (4 x 1GB) 4-4-4-15-T1 (2.1v)
Hard Disk: Seagate 2x250GB SATA ST3250620AS in RAID1
Monitor: Mitsubishi DP900u
Graphics: BFG GeForce 8800GT PCI-E
Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty
Speakers: Klipsch ProMedia v.2-400 4.1 speakers
Optical: LiteOn 16X DVD-ROM; Sony DRU-710A DVD-RW
Capricorn is offline  
Old 12-03-2007, 10:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 141
Default Re: Is this the right driver for my cpu?

Thanks Capricorn . . .

I don't do gaming but I do a lot, a very BIG lot with videos (movies, tv shows, cartoons).

The motherboard comes with a disk, so I'm assuming that the driver is installed when I insert it into the CD/DVD ROM drive. I've formatted this pc before but not with the new cpu and never had a problem, but the old cpu needed a driver:

"amdcpusetup" "AMD Athlon™ 64/FX Processor Driver for Windows XP and Windows Server 2003 Version (x86 and x64 exe) 1.3.2.16 - Allows the system to automatically adjust the CPU speed, voltage and power combination that match the instantaneous user performance need. Download this Setup Installation program (EXE) to automatically update all the files necessary for installation. This package is recommended for users whom desire a graphical user interface for installation. This .EXE driver is a user friendly localized software installation of the driver designed for end-users. This driver supports AMD Athlon 64/FX processors on Windows XP SP2, Windows 2003 SP1 x84 and x64 Editions. "

Thus the reason for asking what driver the cpu needs.

I have the latest driver for my mobo . . . Biostar TForce 6100-939 Chipset and Biostar TForce 6100-939 On-Board VGA.

Those were the only ones available (about 6 months ago). If more updates are needed, please let me know.


Thanks
__________________

__________________
Denise
Denise_M is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU Confusion SmellyOne Overclocking and Modding 2 10-22-2007 01:50 AM
Please explain what a CPU Clock Speed is fcui21 System Upgrades 3 10-03-2007 06:36 PM
video card driver not updating Derekgnr Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 09-18-2007 06:22 AM
Installing video driver without uninstalling original driver a serious problem? darsunt Microsoft Windows and Software 1 08-01-2007 01:34 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.