Is this retail? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-28-2005, 09:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 233
Send a message via AIM to pcrobot
Post Is this a good deal?

It's me again, with more n00b questions... :beard:
I found this. Are both the CPU and mobo retail?
I was thinking about buying them separately (both retail from ZZF) but this will save me money... and I'll get a bunch of free stuff!
Is this a better deal?
Also, is MonarchComputer a good company? (S&H, cust. service, waranties, etc.)
Thanks!
__________________

pcrobot is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 10:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

I don't think it will be retail, as they will put it together, and so they won't be bothered about it being OEM.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 10:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 233
Send a message via AIM to pcrobot
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trifid
I don't think it will be retail, as they will put it together, and so they won't be bothered about it being OEM.
Is it ok to buy mobos and CPUs as OEM?
pcrobot is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 12:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

That CPU is the retail version. Notice how it says, "Retail Box, with fan?"

And yes, it is fine to get OEM CPUs. It just means that they dont come with the Heatsink and fan or fancy packaging.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 01:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 233
Send a message via AIM to pcrobot
Arrow

Quote:
Originally posted by Elbatrop1
That CPU is the retail version. Notice how it says, "Retail Box, with fan?"
That's what I thought, but I couldn't tell on the mobo. What would I not get if it's OEM instead of retail?
pcrobot is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 01:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 233
Send a message via AIM to pcrobot
Talking

I found this disclaimer underneath everything:

Quote:
Included with all AMD Combos: Motherboard with Retail Box, all cables, manuals and drivers. (We also load the latest BIOS, and optimize the BIOS settings for optimal settings.) Processors (CPU) are available in either OEM or Retail version. Retail Box CPUs come with a heat sink/fan. (If you choose a non-retail box CPU, you will need to choose a heat sink/fan to be installed). Monarch Warranty options: free 90 days option, or optional 6 months, 1, 2, or 3 year can be added.

Combos are set up with CPU, fans and memory installed, tested, and made ready to run for you by AMD Certified Technicians (at no charge), then shipped direct to you. Although thermal compound is optional, Monarch does recommend including this with your combo, as it will make your CPU run at a lower temperature. Support is available at no charge if you have any problems with installation of your combo.

Available Heatsink and Fans represent those which have been determined safe for shipping, primarily due to weight. Fans selected will be installed and shipped on your Motherboard Combo. If you select "None" (for Retail-Box CPUs) and choose another Heatsink and Fan from Monarch Computer with your order, this fan WILL NOT be installed on your combo.
pcrobot is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 02:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Quote:
Although thermal compound is optional, Monarch does recommend including this with your combo, as it will make your CPU run at a lower temperature.
Optional??

I can just imagine how many loser's forget to check that option when getting an after market HS
Shumway is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 03:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

I think they will put a thermal pad on instead...
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 03:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

is the pad on OEM products?
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 05:09 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

OEM comes with a shorter warranty. They practically guaruntee that it works.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.