Require assistance upgrading an Inspiron 531 - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-11-2011, 12:40 PM   #41 (permalink)
True Techie
 
FairPlay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 123
Default Re: Require assistance upgrading an Inspiron 531

Even though it's 768MB and not 1GB? Not that much of a difference?
__________________

FairPlay is offline  
Old 02-11-2011, 12:58 PM   #42 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Require assistance upgrading an Inspiron 531

processing cores and texturing units have a greater effect than vRAM in cards today
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 02-11-2011, 01:04 PM   #43 (permalink)
True Techie
 
FairPlay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 123
Default Re: Require assistance upgrading an Inspiron 531

Also, would this Ram be suffice?
FairPlay is offline  
Old 02-11-2011, 01:05 PM   #44 (permalink)
True Techie
 
FairPlay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 123
Default Re: Require assistance upgrading an Inspiron 531

Oh thanks so much Peter.Cort, I think that price helps me alot too! Thanks all.
FairPlay is offline  
Old 02-11-2011, 02:11 PM   #45 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Require assistance upgrading an Inspiron 531

Quote:
Originally Posted by FairPlay View Post
Also, would this Ram be suffice?
That ram will do fine.

I've used Kingston Value ram a couple times and it was cheap yet good.
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 02-11-2011, 04:12 PM   #46 (permalink)
ninja troll
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,019
Default Re: Require assistance upgrading an Inspiron 531

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter.Cort View Post
processing cores and texturing units have a greater effect than vRAM in cards today
but if you have a lot of pixels 1920x1200 up, then it will make a difference.
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K
ASUS P8Z68-V LE LGA 1155 Intel Z68
Corsair 550VX
1Tb Samsung Spinpoint F3
1Tb WD Caviar Green
2Tb WD Caviar Green
8gb DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600
Sapphire Radeon 6870


jasonalwaysready is offline  
Old 02-14-2011, 04:22 PM   #47 (permalink)
True Techie
 
FairPlay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 123
Default Re: Require assistance upgrading an Inspiron 531

Could you re-word that? It made little sense...
FairPlay is offline  
Old 02-14-2011, 04:22 PM   #48 (permalink)
True Techie
 
FairPlay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 123
Default Re: Require assistance upgrading an Inspiron 531

Oh and thanks AbstractHero!
FairPlay is offline  
Old 02-14-2011, 04:27 PM   #49 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Require assistance upgrading an Inspiron 531

Quote:
Originally Posted by FairPlay View Post
Could you re-word that? It made little sense...
He's basically saying if you run games at that high of a resolution you will see much better performance than the card with less memory. But quite frankly you will either way.

You're welcome
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 02-15-2011, 03:34 PM   #50 (permalink)
True Techie
 
FairPlay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 123
Default Re: Require assistance upgrading an Inspiron 531

Oh, I see thanks for that!
__________________

FairPlay is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading an Inspiron 531? Yerfdog System Upgrades 9 01-22-2011 07:35 PM
Have a keylogger, require assistance (Hijackthis Log posted) Optional Viruses, Spyware and Malware 2 03-07-2009 03:02 AM
Upgrading Dell Inspiron 530 Digital Felon System Upgrades 22 10-16-2008 03:12 AM
Upgrading Ram in a Dell Inspiron e1505 ChemGrad System Upgrades 5 03-10-2007 06:35 PM
Problem converting FAT32 to NTFS. Require assistance godai73 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 05-16-2005 09:42 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.