Replacing secondary HDD - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-14-2013, 03:04 PM   #21 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: England
Posts: 92
Default Re: Replacing secondary HDD

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Yes, but you have to take into consideration it might try and format your drive before applying the image. That's why I put multiple options knowing more about the current situation. If it doesn't do that, then yea you can apply the image off that drive.
Ok, system image is now done. Took quite a while in the end.
Just to confirm, I can just copy and paste the content of the old HDD to the new one now and all the programs should still work?

Edit: Started to copy and paste, but every so often I needed to click to confirm that I wanted to move the file. This would've have taken hours with me having to watch the screen, so I've just started recovering the image to the new drive instead. Will update later.
__________________

iCobble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 06:32 PM   #22 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: Replacing secondary HDD

And that's why we say to do it on a separate machine lol.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 06:44 PM   #23 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: England
Posts: 92
Default Re: Replacing secondary HDD

Yeah unfortunately I don't have another computer.
But it's all done now, everything seems to be working. I've got the new drive partitioned into 3, one being all my old HDD content, one with the backup image and the other empty.
Would you recommend keeping backups of all my drives?
Thanks a lot to everyone who's helped, especially PP Mguire, I probably would have destroyed my computer without you guys. Thanks!
iCobble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 06:48 PM   #24 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: Replacing secondary HDD

Once it's finished and working fine you can just delete that image.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.