Replacing power supply in old dell - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-19-2013, 11:00 PM   #11 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default Re: Replacing power supply in old dell

If it's the front panel then might as well buy a new PC lol.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 11:00 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 261
Default Re: Replacing power supply in old dell

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
If it's the front panel then might as well buy a new PC lol.

how do you figure?

front panel can get for like 20 bucks on ebay
__________________

iamloco724 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 11:10 PM   #13 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default Re: Replacing power supply in old dell

Because if something like a "panel" going out can cause the whole PC not to boot I would rather have a non-proprietary motherboard/case so that doesn't happen again. Just me though.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 11:12 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 261
Default Re: Replacing power supply in old dell

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Because if something like a "panel" going out can cause the whole PC not to boot I would rather have a non-proprietary motherboard/case so that doesn't happen again. Just me though.
i had the pc 4 years before it happened

i dont plan on it being in use another 4 years its just a bs machine right now that im just trying to keep running for bs tasks and im eventually giving it to my mom
iamloco724 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 11:39 PM   #15 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default Re: Replacing power supply in old dell

Poor mom. "The PC wont turn on" "You have to replace the panel mom" "What??"

Sorry, not much help but just comical. Figure you have your COA already figured out.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 09:44 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 261
Default Re: Replacing power supply in old dell

just wanted to update this since you really thought it wasnt the psu just installed corsair 430m in and fixed the problem
__________________

iamloco724 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.