replacing mobo/graphics - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-26-2005, 05:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 104
Default replacing mobo/graphics

ok, i have a dell dimention 2400, purchased october 2003. *sigh*

i want to upgrade my graphics but i know the dimention 2400 has only a pci slot, so im planning to buy a new mobo for my computer with a pci-e slot and a pci-e graphics card

a friend says that my cpu, which i plan to take out of my current mobo and replace into my new mobo, is a socket 478 cpu.

is there any way to verify that? and is it easy to take out a cpu from a mobo?

also are there any other compatability issues i need to asses or look out for? Lastly, im not sure if my case is a large ATX tower, or mini-atx or what? i i measure it, can i give you guys the measurments and would you be able to tell me?

thanks a lot.

also, please dont flame me for have a dell, or a 2400 or not getting another computer or anything.

i was planning untill now to get a new computer, but i decided that this would be much cheaper.
__________________

nigy is offline  
Old 08-26-2005, 07:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

I will 99.9% guarantee you it is mATX, that is what Dells are made by.

Yes your CPU is socket 478, here is the full list of specifications for your 2400:

http://support.dell.com/support/edoc...m_en/specs.htm

Taking out a CPU from a motherboard is very simple, just detach the big metal heatsink on top of it, lift up the ZIF socket, and CAREFULLY take it out.
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 08-26-2005, 08:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default

Best advice?

Strip your comp (CPU, hard drive, optical drive, floppy).
Buy a new case.
Buy a new PSU.
Buy a new mobo.
Put everything in the new case.
Reinstall your software.

While you're at it, you may want to price a new CPU and hard drive... since you have it all taken apart and all.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 02:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530
Default

Yeah, you can't really put a new mobo (motherboard) in the Dell's case, even if it is the right form factor. Computer companies (Dell, HP, Gateway) have weird cases where certain things are different, such as the screws will line up differently. You may be able to get one to fit, but buying a cheap case is a better idea and it'll give you room for upgrading however you like.
__________________
Quintox is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 04:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

dells are meant to not be upgradeable thats why people dont buy dell, they build their own
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 04:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 104
Default

seriously, you think that the dell case is skrewed so i wouldnt be able to put a micro-ATX mobo in it?

i know that building my own would be "better" but i dont have the money. i have the money, plently of it to get the computer, but once i get a router/moniter im over the edge.

that and my parents think its a bad idea for a fourteen yearold to have his own computer in his rooom

the family dells mostly mine so i though I'd just upgrade it.

perhaps, could i email or contact dell in some way and ask them about putting in a new mobo.

but i guess i could buy a new case for 50 bucks. would that psu on the new case prolly be better htan the psu on the dell?

thanks.
nigy is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 04:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

i can get you a computer for 650 dollars a monitor and computer for 750 dollars and a router monitor and computer for 800 dollars, is that to much?

and any psu is better then the one dell supplies unles you get the same one. lol
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 08:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530
Default

www.ibuypower.com

Click on the link, the AMD PCI EXPRESS PC $509 one is good. It $509 base price, you can add stuff but even the base price with the basics is a good PC IMO. The video card is pretty decent too. 6200 supposedly isn't compatible w/ BF2 but I think people have run it with it. (You can always upgrade, but the 6200 is pretty good)
__________________
Quintox is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 09:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 8
Default

If you have a dell they are setup so you have to use their hardware. If you want to build your own you can check out Newegg.com. If you want a system thats fully upgradeable build your own or buy a custom system. You can check out my website. click on my website link above.
Mach5 is offline  
Old 08-28-2005, 01:24 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 104
Default

*sigh*

i had a great computer ready to be bought all parts from newegg for 550, but my parents dont want me to have my own so im limited to upgrading the home computer.

so...

lets see:

50 dollars for tower case with a reasonable PSU

about 100 dollars for a not-top-of-the-line but good-enough mobo with pci-e slot (would this be a feasable price?)

275 dollars for a pci-e graphics card

so overall 425 plus tax...ahhh not much less than getting a whole new computer, but then again, im upgrading some of the most expensive parts.
__________________

nigy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.