Replacing Internal HDD; How to data transfer? Need step by step instructions. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-03-2011, 09:38 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 45
Default Re: Replacing Internal HDD; How to data transfer? Need step by step instructions.

Using Gparted, will I need to reinstall my OS into the new HDD once cloning is complete?
__________________

UAHGorgix is offline  
Old 11-03-2011, 09:45 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: Replacing Internal HDD; How to data transfer? Need step by step instructions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by UAHGorgix View Post
Using Gparted, will I need to reinstall my OS into the new HDD once cloning is complete?
Nope. The reason you're cloning is so you don't have to reinstall the OS.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 11-03-2011, 11:43 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 45
Default Re: Replacing Internal HDD; How to data transfer? Need step by step instructions.

Good Deal! Hopefully this is like a 1-2 day process.

Turns out the issue I am having is there isnt enough room for my computer to backup into the D: drive. When I use Gparted, I need to copy each individual partition to the new drive separately right?

Also, in doing so my computer changes the C: and D: to some other arbitrary constants. When I remove the old HDD, will they revert?
UAHGorgix is offline  
Old 11-04-2011, 04:51 AM   #14 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: Replacing Internal HDD; How to data transfer? Need step by step instructions.

Quote:
Turns out the issue I am having is there isnt enough room for my computer to backup into the D: drive. When I use Gparted, I need to copy each individual partition to the new drive separately right?
Not 100% sure but there should be an option to clone the whole drive.

Quote:
Also, in doing so my computer changes the C: and D: to some other arbitrary constants.
It does? It shouldn't. And I assume you mean consonants?
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 11-13-2011, 02:50 AM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 45
Default Re: Replacing Internal HDD; How to data transfer? Need step by step instructions.

Well when I clone the whole drive, the issue of the Recovery drive still takes place. I dont think I can alter a factor default partition for recovery. So I guess I need to clone, delete recovery, make a new partition, and then force a backup and chance recovery save location.
UAHGorgix is offline  
Old 11-13-2011, 11:08 AM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 18
Default Re: Replacing Internal HDD; How to data transfer? Need step by step instructions.

When I upgraded the HD on my laptop, I created an image of the drive using tools already contained in WIN7. I didn't care about the recovery partion so I only imaged the C: drive. That worked great. Can't UAHGorgix simply do this? Of course the new HD must be equal or larger in size than the original.
PcDad is offline  
Old 11-14-2011, 03:02 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: south florida
Posts: 49
Default Re: Replacing Internal HDD; How to data transfer? Need step by step instructions.

you could use a utilitty to resize partitions as thats all you really need, dont try to do that from windows but use a utillity again like "hirens boot" or any other partition resizer and transfer some room to the recovery partition, this used to be a VERY common issue on old laptops with vista.
Geff- is offline  
Old 11-15-2011, 12:39 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 45
Default Re: Replacing Internal HDD; How to data transfer? Need step by step instructions.

Its not a laptop, its a desktop and I am running Win7 upgraded from WinVista. I forced a backup and it turns out I do not have enough size to backup the image on Win7. Gateway assembled my computer and placed a factory sized 10GB Recover partition which was enough for WinVista, but not enough for Win7. I just need to upgrade. Ill make a restore disk just in case and then install the new HDD and clone to to it. Then ill delete the Recovery, create a new partition that is larger, and set my computer to recover to that new partition.
UAHGorgix is offline  
Old 11-15-2011, 01:37 PM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Replacing Internal HDD; How to data transfer? Need step by step instructions.

The recovery partition is sorely used to set your system back to factory settings, not to backup your own data.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 11-17-2011, 08:38 PM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 45
Default

I know. The backup to factory settings is apparently too large for the current partition. Wasnt this way when I had Vista.

Yami,

Would you kindly give a more detailed instruction on the use of GParted? I have the HDD in hand that I wish to use and I just need to make sure I get everything correct. I don't want anything to get blown up when I do this so the more detailed information I get, the better.

Thanks!
__________________

UAHGorgix is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tutorial How to make an Ethernet Cat5e Cable - Step by Step Instructions - Very Easy (HD) madkhaos Projects and Tutorials 8 05-21-2011 12:05 PM
Step by Step Build of a $200 General Purpose Linux PC - extremetech.com office politics System Upgrades 0 07-31-2010 10:18 AM
Step-by-Step Guide to a Common Infrastructure for Windows Server 2003 Deployment Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 1 08-31-2006 04:12 AM
Step by Step Guide to Installing a New Printer in Windows XP Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 01-25-2006 07:57 PM
I need a step by step for win98se and ie password/user problem correctomundo Internet Software and Browsers 1 02-10-2005 11:37 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.